CD Reviews

Driver - 'Countdown' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 08, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4446   0   1   0   0   0





A great sounding and enjoyable 80's record.

Anyone who remembers the M.A.R.S. ‘Project: Driver’ album from 1986 will remember it as one of the early Supergroups that various labels were throwing money at hoping to hit Gold (In this case good old stalwarts of Metal, Shrapnel Records) With a line-up that consisted of Rob Rock on vocals, Tony MacAlpine on guitar, Rudy Sarzo on bass and Tommy Aldridge on drums, how could it possibly fail? Well, there was never a second album and I don’t remember any shows announced either here or across the Atlantic Ocean.

Jump ahead to 1990 and a widely released five song cassette EP featuring just Rob Rock and therefore a name change borrowing the album title and suddenly the world is interested. There’s nowt as queer as folk is there? But again the various players went off to do their own thing. Roy Z in particular went on to produce the likes of Bruce Dickinson, Rob Halford, Judas Priest, Sebastian Bach and Helloween whilst Rob Rock had fun fronting the likes of Impellitteri, Joshua and Axel Rudi Pell before being elbowed out by Jeff Scott Soto. Around 2007 Rock and Z decided to resurrect the ‘Driver’ name and recruited their former colleagues. So, add the likes of drummer Reynold ‘Butch’ Carlson (Joey Tafolla/Jag Panzer/Tribe After Tribe/Missing Persons), bassist Aaron Samson (Odin/George Lynch/Rowan Robertson/John5) and keyboardist Edward Harris Roth (Glenn Hughes/Ronnie Montrose/Rob Halford) and what have you got? Hey presto! Another Supergroup. In 2008 with all guns blazing they released ‘Sons Of Thunder’ which ultimately garnered them a slot on Germany’s prestigious ‘Bang Your Head’ festival in 2009. Instead of capitalising on their first European adventure they retired back to the States and took time out before commencing work last year on the follow-up to ‘Sons Of Thunder’

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

One thing that immediately jumps out at you on ‘Countdown’ is Roy Z’s 80’s production and his great riffs. In fact almost every song has a riff you can get excited about! This guy is a serious player with various use of Maiden style picking (Return To The Sky), Warren De Martini style reverb (Thief In The Night), Mike Varney influenced arpeggios and great use of Echo (Destiny) and a surprising interesting tone on ‘Running From The Darkness’. You know what you’re getting with Rob Rock. Pick any song and he delivers a great vocal, very high on the title track and high sustain on the aforementioned ‘Thief In The Night’ whilst an altogether smooth tone on the ballad ‘Always On My Mind’ that features nice piano from Roth with Z’s production allowing all the instruments to breathe. There’s some nice drum patterns from Carlson on the title track whilst Samson’s bass playing is best heard on ‘Destiny’.

If you make an allowance for a handful of generic songs such as ‘Hollywood Shooting Star’ and the European bonus track ‘Babylon’ then you still have a great sounding and enjoyable 80’s record. One for all those of us who never grew up!

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 3 hours ago
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site