CD Reviews

Jaded Heart - 'Common Destiny' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 10, 2012    
0.0 (0)
5921   0   1   0   0   0




A first rate hard rock album.

As readers of this web site should know, Jaded Heart is a German hard rock band founded in 1991 by bassist Michael Muller and drummer Axel Kruse. Their first album came out in 1994 called ‘Inside Out’ and they have released a further eight studio albums with the last being ‘Perfect Insanity’ in 2009. The European rockers have now released their tenth studio album ‘Common Destiny’.

The best track ‘I Believe’ opens with an atmospheric intro leading into the most raucous riff. There is a quieter verse before the guitars roar into life again. The chorus is a deep hammering affair which ends up sticking in your head. The opener ‘With You’ tears off at a faster pace after some oscillating keys, a mammoth progression powers through the track with the keyboard melody popping up occasionally. It also returns in the bridge for a duel with the six string before a ripping solo. The chorus is catchy and contains more vocal harmonies than ‘Believe’ making this another memorable offering. ‘Buried Alive’ follows a similar vein with more pounding guitar work and some occasional revolving keys although the verse is less intense with the bass taking the lead before a melodic chorus, although the solo is a monster.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

‘Run And Hide’ is another where the guitars are turned down for the majority of the verse. It kicks off with a punchy riff and harmonic vocals before a bass powered verse. The guitars crank things up in an extremely infectious chorus and another exhausting solo. This track pushes ‘Believe’ close for top song and it too will swirl round the mind for days. All these songs are played at higher tempos but JH also can grind as well with ‘Saints Denied’ and ‘My Destiny’ being constructed with a sleazier riff. These songs crunch and chug their way along but are nicely complemented by more soaring vocals. Even the ballad ‘Higher’ doesn’t escape without some solid riffage. Wailing notes turn to soft strummed acoustic guitar and in the verse before the electrics make their presence felt for a sailing emotional chorus.

This is a sterling slab of heavy rock with bombastic progressions, delicious keys and strong vocals that gets better with each listen. In terms of comparison, think Pretty Maids and Pink Cream 69. Johan Falberg displays an excellent vocal range and some differing styles which help add variety. Peter Oestros shows some real star quality on the guitar playing with plenty of ferocious riffs and intense solos. This is all wrapped up with some first class mixing and production, each track is crystal clear with a fresh modern feel. This album should hold a wide appeal for all fans of riff driven rock and metal. It is heavier than it first appears especially in the guitar department, but the vocal harmonies and glossy keys help to retain a melodic edge. Only those at the extreme ends of the softest rock or heaviest metal spectrum should approach with any caution. Put simply, this is a first rate hard rock album.

Dave Scott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 4 hours ago
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site