Devin Townsend Project - 'By A Thread' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 31, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4505   0   1   0   0   0



A fascinating, entertaining musical journey.

Devin Townsend does not do things by halves. Part creative genius, part raving loony (possibly) he may be, but it’s very hard not to be impressed by the dedication and inventiveness he brings to the rock scene. His four album concept under the Devin Townsend Project banner certainly made people sit up and take notice, with each album having a different style and line up to the last. Then came the mad idea to perform all 4 albums in their entirety over 4 nights in London. Not an easy task, but a rewarding one as evidenced by the mighty box set now available.

It should be said that all we have been sent is the four DVD set, one for each concert. By all accounts the full package, which adds 5 compact discs as well, comes in a really lavish box set that will make you weep with joy at it’s sensuous beauty. Then again, we didn’t get that, so you’ll have to find out for yourself. Mind you, after sitting through the complete DVD set, I do want the full package, as this is something worth keeping and will not be getting anywhere near the ‘coaster’ pile.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Bringing together as many personnel from the original recordings as possible (plus appearances from the wonderful Ziltoid), Townsend and his team have created not just a night to remember, but four nights to remember. The music is excellent, although my personal favourite is the more upbeat ‘Addicted’ album, and the camerawork and cutting is uniformly excellent, especially given that the venues are not that large. Townsend himself comes across very well indeed, happy to talk to the audience and interact. Special mention should go to Anneke Van Giersbergen, who provides additional vocals on ‘Addicted’ and does a terrific job indeed.

Perhaps not to everyone’s tastes musically (although most rockers should like plenty of it), ‘By A Thread’ is certainly a lasting testament to Devin Townsend’s music and to his talented cohorts. If you have the albums this is an absolute must, and if not I would still highly recommend it, as it’s a fascinating, entertaining musical journey.

Alan Holloway

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us