The Mercy House - 'A Broken State Of Bliss' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 31, 2012    
0.0 (0)
3228   0   1   0   0   0

Plenty here to appeal to Rock and Metal fans across the board.

‘A Broken State of Bliss’, the debut release from London rockers, The Mercy House very nearly didn`t happen as health issues almost derailed the band before they`d even got off the ground. Fortunately such obstacles were overcome with plenty of grit and determination and the end result is well worth the wait.

Roping in industry big hitters Donald Clark (Guns n’ Roses, Muse) to mix the album and Mandy Parnell (The Prodigy, Depeche Mode) to master the disc is testament to the buzz that has been whipped up over the last couple of years and this investment in the album has paid huge dividends. With a huge riff-heavy foundation and one of the biggest, fattest bass sounds this side of Geezer Butler this is impressive stuff and very difficult to categorise. If you can imagine Alice In Chains clashing with Guns n’ Roses with a hint of the much missed Saigon Kick then you can start to get the picture.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Following the short opening title track, ‘Greed’ kicks things off in big style with a big hulking riff that could bulldoze a tower block and this pretty much sets the tone for the album. The real strength of the album is its ability to meld granite hard riffs with some exquisite melodies combining killer songs with a multitude of twists and turns along the way. The brooding, sinister ‘Lead The Way’ and the piledriving ‘Hayt’ are real highlights but ‘Inversions’ is the albums crowning moment with its Queensryche like opening and towering, powerful guitar work making it quite possibly one of the finest songs of the year and that is glowing praise indeed.

As a first album, ‘A Broken State of Bliss’ is a remarkable statement to herald The Mercy House`s entry into the big, wide world and it is an album that can undoubtedly hold its own against some of the bigger acts out there. There is plenty here to appeal to Rock and Metal fans across the board with its modern take on some classic themes. If The Mercy House can build on this promising debut there`ll be no holding them back and the big time beckons.

Mick Burgess

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us