Surreal - 'Someday Was Today' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 31, 2012    
0.0 (0)
1784   0   1   0   0   0




A band with a lot of potential.

Surreal is one of several bands put together by Corey Lennox and the idea behind this one, apparently, is to take the emotionality of pop and combine it with the musicality of progressive rock. Well, in all honesty I could find little trace of any progressive rock elements only well crafted indie pop rock, so over to you to decide…

You have to applaud Corey’s song writing skills and the ability to produce uplifting indie pop rock so well. ‘About to Be’ would fit well into any soundtrack romantic comedy and the blend of Corey’s and bass player Julie Holmes’ vocals work wonderfully. If Smashing Pumpkins are your cup of tea then ‘Out There’ is a song that you will most certainly enjoy. ‘Plans’ has a potent lyrical content and the dual vocals add a much needed sensitivity to the mix.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

A particular favourite song for me is ‘Dusk’ a song with a sense of mystery which again benefits tremendously from Julie Holmes accompanying vocals. The music treads closer to U2s better moments from the 80s and the chorus sounds uncannily like some of Lacuna Coil’s earlier work. ‘Surrounded’ continues in the Smashing Pumpkins style before ‘The Impossible’ jangles along on a potent rhythm piece and the chorus jumps out into the sunshine. The two part finish of ‘Rain Prt 1’ and ‘Rain Part 2’ are ambitious moments that show a side to the band not explored on previous offerings. The moody intro of the first part is not unlike something New Order might have offered but is over a little too soon before the second part awakens in a roll of percussion and guitar.

I cannot help but imagine if these guys got a slot at the Reading festival they could really hit the big time, especially as there are less talented artists doing the rounds that have found acclaim. Surreal is a band with a lot of potential.

Ray Paul

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us