CD Reviews

The Rock Alchemist - 'Eyes Of Mind' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 18, 2012    
0.0 (0)
6189   0   1   0   0   2




Fabulous stuff!

I don’t know about you but I think there are the beginnings of a subtle power shift in the European rock/metal scene away from Scandinavia – that let’s face it has been at the forefront of the rock/metal revival since the early noughties – to the sunnier climes of the Mediterranean or more specifically Italy. Sure the Scandinavian scene is as vibrant as ever but it seems that my review pile for virtually every issue of Fireworks contains a release from yet another talented band from the Azzurri. Turin based The Rock Alchemist are no exception.

The band have chosen their name well as one of the defining goals of alchemy is “the transmutation of common metals into gold” and that pretty much sums up in one sentence The Rock Alchemist’s approach to their music. At their heart they are undoubtedly a progressive metal band but – no doubt from learning their chops playing in Bon Jovi, Europe and Journey cover bands – they bring a serious arena rock styling and sensibility into everything that they do. Ok it may not be gold that they’ve created but its bloody good none the less!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

They kick things off with ‘Live Or Die’, a song inspired by the extraordinary life of the late, great F1 World Champion Ayrton Senna. Although this is essentially a guitar driven hard rock song with no discernable chorus the addition of some deft AOR touches and one or two prog flourishes turns it into something rather special. Why not check the song out on You Tube, where it’s set to some vintage Senna footage, to see what I mean. The gentle acoustics of ‘Guardian Angel’ are up next that build into a huge rousing chorus, creating a real arena filling power ballad that also features some fine lead work by guitarist Beppe Geracitano. ‘The Pantheon’ is one of two short instrumentals on the album that starts with some tribal rhythms before giving way to a crunching riff and more exemplary lead playing from Geracitano.

A rumbling bass then heralds the arrival of one of my favourite cuts on the record. ‘Shakespeare In Rock’, with its killer riff and incisive melody, will have old school Queensrÿche fans positively salivating and left wondering why Rÿche can’t produce songs of this quality anymore. The band has chosen to include actual prose composed by the Bard himself to make up the lyrics. It may not recreate Will’s famous iambic pentameter rhyming couplets but one thing’s for sure I don’t remember enjoying Shakespeare like this when I was at school! ‘Fly Away’ and to some extent ‘Eyes Of Mind’ head into heavier Symphony X/Dream Theater territory; where staccato riffs, intricate drum patterns and well placed keyboard embellishments serve to showcase the high level of musicianship within the band.

They leave the best ‘till last though. ‘Broken Glass’, a smouldering seven minute blues epic, is easily the best song on this rare metal nugget. Fabulous stuff!

Alister Strachan

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (1)add comment

Peter_G said:

April 09, 2013
Votes: +2

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks, 4 days ago
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//
  • Berny : Download Fireworks #82 for FREE, incl. all 88 songs and the bonus magazine. Just go to "Free Downloads" in the TOP menu. : - >
  • Berny : Fireworks #83 is out NOW!
  • Rocktopia Te : Exclusive MOONSPELL UK video premiere on Rocktopia: Check out the latest news!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site