CD Reviews

Night Flight Orchestra - 'Internal Affairs' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 29, 2012    
0.0 (0)
7104   0   1   0   0   0

It is quite simply: wonderful!

In truth for this review all I would really need to do is write down the bands that the Night Flight Orchestra sound like a leave it at that. Though You dear Fireworks reader deserve more, and the Reviews Editor also expects more! So here is the story behind what is in my opinion one of the best retro rock acts treading the boards in 2012.

Soilwork’s Bjorn Strid and David Andersson of Mean Streak (also a Soilwork session musician), were having a few drinks (like you do) whilst on the road in 2007. This lighthearted evening of booze and banter got the two men talking about the music and bands they grew up listening to and the tall stories and legends that often surrounded and accompanied those bands and their “on the road antics”. Bjorn and David decided that these tales (true or not) needed telling and they set about writing a soundtrack to go along with them. And some five years later The Night Flight Orchestra is here with an album entitled ‘Internal Affairs’: an album unashamedly chock full of stolen riffs, sounds and memories that brought a massive smile to my face as I listened to it. The music is a real blast from the past and yes the band have ripped off Kiss, Boston, Styx, The Eagles, Thin Lizzy and many others to make this album but I don’t care one little bit because it is what it is - a 70s Rock ’n’ Roll record made for a brand new 2012 audience.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

It makes sense to mention a few of my own faves to tell you about... ‘California Morning’ is pure Kiss; just listen to that riff and guitar work that elicits memories of the wonderful Ace Frehley; ‘West Ruth Ave’ has a disco like melody that underpins the strutting guitars and funky drum beats that dance the song on its way. Title track ‘Internal Affairs’ has a Stevie Wonder ‘Superstitious’ keyboard melody running through it, with violins backing up the catchy vocals making this song is a success from beginning to end. ‘1998’ reminds me of the Michael Stanley Band at their best; with it’s sing-a-long chorus, multi-layered harmonies, superb lead guitar work and sax solo ‘1998’ rocks. ‘Montreal Midnight Supply’ has the twin guitar attack made famous by Thin Lizzy down to a tee and with another big chorus the song is one of the album’s stand out moments. Finally we have ‘Green Hills Of Glumslov’ which has the kind of sound that I miss most about the melodic rock of years gone by, as its warm and velvety tone hits you in the heart as you listen to the song, and makes you want to go and dig out all your old favourite albums from the attic and play them once again.

‘Internal Affairs’ will bring a nostalgic tear to the eye of all those old enough to remember when this kind of music ruled the airwaves. It is quite simply: wonderful!

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (1)add comment

Terry K. said:

Ian-- it's pretty tough to put into words the greatness that oozes from the NFO cd. You've done a damn fine job convincing folks with your review. i'd like to add a word of caution tho-- the songs never really 'copy' verbatim any particular classic rock song. And that's the beauty of these guys paying homage to the great rock of the 70's. They wrote a masterpiece of a new / classic sounding albuum here. THey got it SO very right--it's my fav cd of 2012. That's how fine this listen is,everyone. Get it--you won't regret it! And spread the word about NFO! Cheers, T
March 01, 2013
Votes: +0

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 1 week ago
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site