Son Of A Bitch - 'Victim You' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 31, 2012    
0.0 (0)
5527   0   1   0   0   0




Re-issue of the 1996 album.

Son Of A Bitch came into being back in 1976 when guitarist Graham Oliver and bassist Steve Dawson first started to make heavy metal thunder. Wisely the name was sidelined when the band merged with Coast frontman Biff Byford and guitarist Paul Quinn to form Saxon, recruiting Gary Glitter band drummer Pete Gill along the way. I just can’t imagine Tony Blackburn cheesily announcing “Here’s Son Of A Bitch, Top Of The Popsters, with ‘Wheels Of Steel’”, can you?

And with that SOB were consigned to the annals of NWOBHM folklore, or at least they were until, having all over a period of time parted with Biff and the boys, Oliver, Dawson and Gill reconvened in 1994. This time Thunderhead frontman Ted Bullet and Saracen guitarist Haydn Conway were brought in to complete the line-up, releasing one album together, ‘Victim One’, and playing barrow-loads of live dates showcasing their own material and their rightfully claimed Saxon heritage. Unwisely this time, the name was again sidelined in favour of a legal tug of war with their ex-band mates over who could use the Saxon name, the results being that we now have both Saxon and Oliver Dawson Saxon, the latter of who are ironically, considering all the kerfuffle they created, now more regularly referred to as ‘ODS’.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

So what with ODS finally releasing a studio album earlier this year through Angel Air, the reissue specialists have seen fit to push ‘Victim One’ back into the spotlight, a place where it looks and sounds rather comfortable. Originally emerging in 1996 this version comes with new cover art featuring a metallic eagle sitting proudly front and centre, unashamedly pointing towards Saxon in a manner the original never did. New liner notes, which rather oddly also include all of the writing credits to the Saxon albums Oliver and Dawson performed on (who’s still marking their territory then?) also make this a package well worth picking up, especially when you consider that musically ‘Victim You’ is a strong statement. There’s no denying that Oliver and Conway make a mighty fine twin axe attack, with ‘Drivin’ Sideways’, which contains possibly the most cringeworthy lyric of all time “I’m getting a slob-job on ma throb-knob” (oh dear...) and ‘Old School’ strongly nodding to the classic Saxon sound, while ‘Evil Sweet Evil’ offers up a far blusier AC/DC vibe and ‘I Still Care’ surprises by recalling Poison’s ‘Every Rose...’, especially during the guitar solo!

Bullet has a voice that sits comfortably between Brain Johnson (AC/DC) and Jeff Keith (Tesla), but it’s the tight interplay between Oliver, Dawson and Conway that really makes ‘Victim One’ sparkle in a down an’ dirty way. Add to all that a tasty bonus track from the original sessions and this becomes a release that confirms that the subsequent years spent in court were indeed a complete and utter waste.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site