CD Reviews

Armonight - 'Tales From The Heart' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 02, 2012    
0.0 (0)
7006   0   1   0   0   0



A stylish and delightful symphonic rock record.

Armonight is an Italian symphonic/gothic rock band formed in 2007 by guitarist Lara who wanted to find musicians to play her friend Fjord’s compositions. By 2009 half the band was complete and they started recording their debut with session players. ‘Suffering & Passion’ was released the following year. The line up has finally been completed and their second album ‘Tales From The Heart’ is now unveiled.

After a short intro the single ‘With Your Knife’ bounds forth. The clean riff and rich keys makes way for a verse powered by the rhythm section although the second has more guitar. The chorus has a progression of both six stringers in tandem with a little keyboard creating a textured sound. Sy’s vocals start deep and controlled before converting to something more soaring. One of the guitar fuelled tracks ‘Dancing With Ghosts’ sees a solid grinding riff thundering along with pounding bass and drums. Another that fits into this category is ‘Caroline’ where the gothic keyboard creates the atmosphere as the chunky guitar gives a bombastic edge. The chorus is catchy and show some powerful vocals from Sy before a frantic solo. The most atmospheric song is the suitably titled ‘Rainy Days’. The keys feel like rain flooding down as the guitar mimics thunder and wind during this expressive composition. The two guitars dual high and low before a memorable chorus and yet another swirling solo. It’s not all up tempo and Armonight are equally adept at raw emotion. ‘When You See Me Cry’ is the mellowest song with soft echoed guitar sounding almost acoustic allowing Sy’s passionate vocals to be the main focus. The full on electrics arrive for the bridge with a keys melody playing out.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

This is a stylish and delightful symphonic rock record. For anyone already familiar with Armonight, this is a fine follow up to their highly enjoyable debut. With the rich keyboards/synth and some sublime guitar work, they have managed to fashion quite a distinctive sound that is tough to compare as is vocalist Sy. She isn’t a soprano like Tarja Turunen or a roaring powerhouse ala Doro but somewhere in between. Irrespective of any classification her vocals are of a high quality and she’s able to sing with potency or subtlety depending on the direction. However the stars are without question the two guitarists Lara and Fjord. The later has created some infectious compositions and both play with precision and passion. Their work is truly a joy to listen to. Another component that stands out is the production values which are pitched perfect sounding as crisp and clean as any record this year. Those already hooked by Armonight should adore this as it picks up where the debut left off.

If you’re into symphonic metal/rock then this band should be on your radar. Readers with a penchant for soprano vocals or seriously heavy guitar may find this too light. This record proves Armonight are a band that has great chance to make a real name for themselves.

Dave Scott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2022  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks ago
  • Berny : @vialli999: You get issue 90 from our download store. Would you like to purchase a physical copy?
  • Berny : You can pre - order FIREWORKS MAGAZINE #97 now!
  • Deeppurple#1 : Hi,I downloaded my free copy of issue #87 but I can't seem to open the file. Any advice?
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site