CD Reviews

Judas Priest - 'Screaming For Vengeance - Special 30th Anniversary Edition' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 13, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4414   0   1   0   0   0

A wonderful album.

Celebrating thirty years, Judas Priest’s seminal metal album ‘Screaming For Vengeance’ was the natural successor to 1980’s equally important ‘British Steel’ although it was actually released after 1981’s vastly underrated ‘Point Entry’, which has sadly faded into relative obscurity. By the time Priest released this now legendary album they had become a major arena metal band in America which had begun in earnest with ‘British Steel’; their first real serious stab at commercial success in America and arguably the start of a series of pop-metal albums from the band throughout the 1980s. The term “pop-metal” is not entirely accurate, however, especially as this album contains some stunning metal tracks such as the brilliant ‘Riding On The Wind’, which is dominated by Dave Holland’s powerful drums, and the stunning title-track shows just how awesome a singer Halford was back then. ‘Bloodstone’ contains one of Downing and Tipton’s most melodic and seductive lead riffs, and little needs to be said about the iconic duo that is ‘The Hellion’ and ‘Electric Eye.’ ‘Devil’s Child’ is certainly a dose of pop-metal but a catchy song nonetheless and we all know about ‘You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’.’ The less well-known ‘Fever’ and ‘Pain And Pleasure’ certainly deserves more attention while ‘(Take These) Chains’, written by Bob Halligan, Jr., shows just how good Priest were at creating melodic metal at that point in their career yet it still manages to maintain an edge.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

This 30th anniversary edition also includes a bunch of bonus tracks: four live tracks recorded in 1982 and the studio track ‘Prisoner Of Your Eyes’ which was recorded during the 1985 ‘Turbo’ sessions. However, best of all is the DVD which contains the band’s now legendary performance at 1983’s US Festival, which was held in San Bernardino, California. The twelve song performance illustrates just how stunning Judas Priest were onstage back in the 1980s: edgy, energetic and enthusiastic, traits which they have seemingly lost in recent years. My only gripe is that as it is such an important release and a welcome re-release a box-set would have been more commemorative rather than the bog standard two-disc CD case. The famous ‘Hellion’ artwork has been reworked by Mark Wilkinson and there are some cover sleeve notes by US metal broadcaster Eddie Trunk, which in all honesty lack detail for the more serious metal nerd.

‘Screaming For Vengeance’ is without question one of the band’s finest achievements. It would influence not only the burgeoning thrash metal bands of the 1980s but a whole legion of other metal bands that found success in years to come such as Annihilator and Pantera, and more contemporary bands like Fozzy. If there was such a thing as a ratings system in Fireworks this would be one of those rare albums that would get top marks. It truly is a wonderful album. Nuff said.

Neil Daniels

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 5 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site