Fireworks

Winger http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/c0/3e/3c/298_Winger_1272613174.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     April 30, 2010    
 
4.0
 
3.8 (1)
7179   0   1   0   0   0

Artist

Artist

Winger, live at O2 Academy, Islington - 4th April 2010

Easter Sunday and everyone gathered at the Academy are in fine spirits, even the miserable door staff that I have had to endure for years are smiling! With a very reasonable turnout all the openers “Furyon” had to do was turn up plug in and go for it which is exactly what they did. Playing the sort of music that Metallica and Maiden have made so popular over the years, this 5 piece from Brighton not only have the looks but more importantly some great material.
Next up was the wonderful “Airrace” who seem to have beefed up their sound in the six Months since they played Firefest 6 and have honed themselves into a very tight stage act with the impressive “Laurie Murrell” peeling of the riffs like is life depended on it. Obviously the album “Shaft of Light” was the main focal point of the set but the group did throw in a new
track from the upcoming album.
Headliners “Winger” or should that read “The Reb Beach Show” were as reliable as ever. Touring in support of the “Karma”
album the group hit the stage running opening up with “Pull Me Under” and “Blind Revolution Mad” with the crowd singing along word for word. Although Kip did sound a bit croaky on the first few numbers his voice soon settled down. The one
advantage that this American band has over so many other so called 80’s groups is not only some good songs but the inspiring Mr Beach on guitar, you just get sucked into the simplicity of the way it’s delivered but the technical side of it is one that few guitarists could ever dream of matching. Towards the end of the set we got what the crowd had come for the triple whammy of “Seventeen”, Miles Away”, “Madalaine” and a very confusing version of “Helter Skelter” where all 3 groups got up on stage and made a complete racket which no one seemed to mind. The full track listing for “Wingers” set was as follows
“Pull Me Under”, “Blind Revolution Mad”,” Easy Come Easy Go”, “Stone Cold Killer”, “Rainbow In The Rose”, “Deal With
The Devil”, “Down Incognito”, “Your Great Escape”, “Reb Beach Solo”, “You Are The Saint”, “Drum Solo” “Headed For A
Heartache”, “Can’t Get Enough”, “Seventeen”, “Miles Away”, “Madalaine”, “Helter Skelter”.

I will also let everyone into a secret as the crowd wouldn’t have seen this I was down in the photo pit and saw the roadies tape all the set lists to the stage floor as per usual and next to Kip’s monitor they wrote in black marker pen “LONDON” just in case he forgot where he was!! To sum everything up its not often you get a 3 band bill where all the artists play a blinding set but on this occasion we were spoilt rotten.

SPEEDY HICKS

 

Share this on the web.

Editor review

(ratings: the higher, the better)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Performance 
 
4.0
Sound Quality 
 
4.0
Venue 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Central Electronic Brain April 30, 2010
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (55)

Winger, live at O2 Academy, Islington - 4th April 2010

(ratings: the higher, the better)

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
3.8
Performance 
 
4.0  (1)
Sound Quality 
 
4.0  (1)
Venue 
 
3.0  (1)
Value for Money 
 
4.0  (1)
What a great night - what a great band.
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Performance 
 
4.0
Sound Quality 
 
4.0
Venue 
 
3.0
Value for Money 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Paul G February 06, 2011
Last updated: February 06, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Winger were awesome

What a great night - what a great band.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


busy

Member Login



Calendar

<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us

FacebookTwitterYoutubeGoogle

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site