CD Reviews

Marauder - 'Elegy Of Blood' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 03, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4909   0   1   0   0   0




A strong release.

Despite the lengthy existence of this Greek heavy/power metal quintet – apparently they were formed in 1990 – and this being their fifth album release, I have not previously heard anything from ‘Sense Of Metal’ (1997), ‘1821’ (2000). ‘Life?’ (2004) or ‘Face The Mirror’ (2008). There have been frequent changes of line-up through this time although founder members, the twin guitarists Andreas Tsaoussis and George Sofronas have been a constant.

As will be noted, the band’s releases have appeared roughly every four years, and much of the lyrical content of these has focused upon war, battles and revolutions. They are in no mere clones of Sabaton, the other band with a similar lyrical focus. This fifth release again conceptually focuses upon some of the major wars and battles of human history including ‘The Great War’ and ‘World War 2’ so have certainly encompassed the two most significant of the last hundred years as well as going further back with ‘Alexander’, ‘Roman Empire’ and ‘Crusaders’.

So conceptually what we have here is a strong release, and although the songs are all very competently performed, there are none that stand out as absolute classics in their field. We have what now seems to almost be the obligatory instrumental “overture” to commence the album, and here it’s the title track and its dynamic, symphonic tones are really quite special. The ten tracks that follow are all infused with melody and typical power metal dynamism, are of varied pace (although the mid paced trot is the most frequent), and some even have pretence to an epic character without ever quite achieving that vaunted status.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

There is no doubt that the dual guitar attack of Tsaoussis and Sofronas is the band’s trump card, and I love the tones they roll out here. However, I missed any really special or even spectacular solos that could have suggested the band was ready for the European power metal Premier League. Both guitarists initially show their chops in ‘The Great War’ and instrumentally it’s certainly one of the best tracks here. But, Heuston! We have a problem!! And I’m afraid it’s the vocals of Alexander Kostarakos. They just don’t have the necessary warmth, emotion and range (he also seems to be off key in places) to carry this sort of material with aplomb and after numerous listens to the album, I was starting to imagine what a really great album this could have been with a more effective vocalist.

Nevertheless, power metal devotees will still find much succour in tracks such as the insistent and powerful ‘Warriors’ which has some decent harmony vocals, ‘Crusaders’ with its incisive riffs and ‘Black Gold’ which is a highlight, and has more energy and verve than anything else on the album and points to the band’s true potential.

Paul Jerome Smith

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site