Viza - 'Carnivalia' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 26, 2012    
0.0 (0)
3585   0   1   0   0   0




One of the most exciting new offerings the scene has ever witnessed.

Despite the obvious influential debt Viza owe to System Of A Down maestro-turned-manager Serj Tankian, few bands can pull off a feat quite so entertaining and daringly original as the manic, Middle Eastern romp that is 2012's 'Carnivalia'. And while Los Angeles may be the city the nine-piece presently call home, their respective Armenian, Greek and Arabic roots run far deeper than the simple, good-time tunes of the region's over-saturated glam rock scene.

Fiercely infectious from the frantic, gypsy-flavoured off, this untamed beast of a full-length unites the adrenalin-fuelled worlds of folk and swaggering rock with a fiendish eccentricity that's rivalled only by the exceptional talent exhibited by this accordion-wielding mob of musicians. Led by the bombastic vocal talents of roguish frontman K'noup, every inch of 'Carnivalia' positively oozes personality, with each track spanning a spiralling course of exhilarating Eastern melodies, thigh-slapping choruses and ferocious fits of aggression.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

With its rocking, instantly-recognisable hooks, a choice cover of The Doors' 'Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)' ranks top of the album's most instantly appealing highlights. Spiked with an exotic wealth of souped-up folk trappings, there's no doubt that Viza have made this classic number their own, but it's the deliciously deranged likes of 'Hourglass' that see this talented troupe at their most imaginative. Laden with a lush mix of notey, Arabic flourishes and tinkling piano keys, this breakneck-paced standout is served with a generous measure of smouldering riffage and Queen-style vocal harmonising, striking an impeccable balance between high drama and savage aggression. Like the most restless of wandering outlaws, 'Shall We Reign Dance?' meanders across a quirky gamut of pummelling beats, stirring psychedelia and rousing gang vocals.

Free from mainstream rock's tame, sing-along trends and predictable, chorus-laden filler, this rare blend of catchiness and eccentric charm makes for one of the most exciting new offerings the scene has ever witnessed.

Faye Coulman

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 4 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our RevĂ­ews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us