Jackdaw4 - 'Dissecticide' http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/26/39/42/3185_jackdaw4dissecticide_1358734827.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 21, 2013    
0.0 (0)
5488   0   1   0   0   0





The fourth offering from Jackdaw4.

The marvellously titled ‘Dissecticide’ is the fourth offering from Jackdaw4, the home of one time The Grip, Wildhearts and Honeycrack man Willie Dowling and his band of merry power-popping minstrels. If you’ve never heard Jackdaw4 (really, I need three good reasons, signed by your parents and witnessed by two people of good standing to explain why not), then prepare yourself for the most sublime combination of razor sharp wit, observant social commentary and jumping, pumping, melodically humping eclecto-pop you could ever wish for.

Albums that cover topics such as the farcical natures of religion, date rape and political greed would suggest shoe-gazing shouty music, but in the hands of Jackdaw4 nothing could be further from the truth (well other than a blancmange driving leprechaun). For what ‘Dissecticide’ specialises in is taking the most glittering, glistening of hooks, coating them in sugary sweetness and then burying them viciously into your skull, while wearing a mischievous ear to ear grin. ‘Abigail’s Last Hurrah’ careens into view, all hand-claps, milk-bottle like clanks and scything riffs and a vocal melody to die for, while ‘Ministry Of Fools’ takes a Squeeze like piano line and adds the most sublime, dreamy, poppy chorus imaginable. It all leaves you gurning like a goon and a little giddy, but when ‘Why Don’t You Come And See Me When She’s Not Around’ is finished with you in a Cheap Trick meets Sparks kind of way, you’ll be left seeing stars like a stunned Bash Street Kid.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The arrangements are ridiculous, with xylophones, wood blocks, bells (no whistles), angelic harmony vocals and killer bursts of guitar combining to amazingly cohesive effect. However it is the sheer musicality of it all and the undoubted skill taken to put it together that makes this a sure fire hit every time. John Steel, Guy James and Willie provide a plethora of guitar goodness, while Andy Lewis booms and boings on the bass. However it is both the hyperactive, pinpoint drumming from Kate Stephenson and the multi-layered vocals from Willie, John, Guy, Andy, Graeme Ash and Elin Agorelius that takes already unmissable songs and raises them to exalted heights. ‘Gone By The Weekend’ races along with melodic intent, ‘Monster Ball’ has hit written all over it, through it and from front to back, while ‘Coming Up For Air’ shows that Honeycrack had more in common with the Beatles than Motorhead. Then comes the twanging, surprisingly seductive slice of country that is ‘What Goes Around Comes Around’, where guest vocalist Givvi Flynn shimmers and shines, ‘Made Of Stone’ which lures and excites through its subtle, ever growing charms, while ‘Melanoma’ uses sparse instrumentation to allow sumptuous vocals to get their hard hitting message over in the most covert manner.

Why Jackdaw4 aren’t a household name I’m really not sure, but you should certainly find a place to hold ‘Dissecticide’ in your house. My suggestion would be your CD player. Once there, it will take some shifting.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us