CD Reviews

Jackdaw4 - 'Dissecticide' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 21, 2013    
0.0 (0)
8864   0   1   0   0   0





The fourth offering from Jackdaw4.

The marvellously titled ‘Dissecticide’ is the fourth offering from Jackdaw4, the home of one time The Grip, Wildhearts and Honeycrack man Willie Dowling and his band of merry power-popping minstrels. If you’ve never heard Jackdaw4 (really, I need three good reasons, signed by your parents and witnessed by two people of good standing to explain why not), then prepare yourself for the most sublime combination of razor sharp wit, observant social commentary and jumping, pumping, melodically humping eclecto-pop you could ever wish for.

Albums that cover topics such as the farcical natures of religion, date rape and political greed would suggest shoe-gazing shouty music, but in the hands of Jackdaw4 nothing could be further from the truth (well other than a blancmange driving leprechaun). For what ‘Dissecticide’ specialises in is taking the most glittering, glistening of hooks, coating them in sugary sweetness and then burying them viciously into your skull, while wearing a mischievous ear to ear grin. ‘Abigail’s Last Hurrah’ careens into view, all hand-claps, milk-bottle like clanks and scything riffs and a vocal melody to die for, while ‘Ministry Of Fools’ takes a Squeeze like piano line and adds the most sublime, dreamy, poppy chorus imaginable. It all leaves you gurning like a goon and a little giddy, but when ‘Why Don’t You Come And See Me When She’s Not Around’ is finished with you in a Cheap Trick meets Sparks kind of way, you’ll be left seeing stars like a stunned Bash Street Kid.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The arrangements are ridiculous, with xylophones, wood blocks, bells (no whistles), angelic harmony vocals and killer bursts of guitar combining to amazingly cohesive effect. However it is the sheer musicality of it all and the undoubted skill taken to put it together that makes this a sure fire hit every time. John Steel, Guy James and Willie provide a plethora of guitar goodness, while Andy Lewis booms and boings on the bass. However it is both the hyperactive, pinpoint drumming from Kate Stephenson and the multi-layered vocals from Willie, John, Guy, Andy, Graeme Ash and Elin Agorelius that takes already unmissable songs and raises them to exalted heights. ‘Gone By The Weekend’ races along with melodic intent, ‘Monster Ball’ has hit written all over it, through it and from front to back, while ‘Coming Up For Air’ shows that Honeycrack had more in common with the Beatles than Motorhead. Then comes the twanging, surprisingly seductive slice of country that is ‘What Goes Around Comes Around’, where guest vocalist Givvi Flynn shimmers and shines, ‘Made Of Stone’ which lures and excites through its subtle, ever growing charms, while ‘Melanoma’ uses sparse instrumentation to allow sumptuous vocals to get their hard hitting message over in the most covert manner.

Why Jackdaw4 aren’t a household name I’m really not sure, but you should certainly find a place to hold ‘Dissecticide’ in your house. My suggestion would be your CD player. Once there, it will take some shifting.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 hours, 7 minutes ago
  • rockcompany : hi, ordered a bunch of magazines yesterday but still have not received a download. Also the order is not showing in my account?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site