CD Reviews

Steve Lukather - 'Transition' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 21, 2013    
0.0 (0)
4363   0   1   0   0   0




A well-written, played and produced album with some spellbinding guitar and a few well-crafted hooks.

Guitarist Steve Lukather made his name firstly as a ‘go to’ session guitarist and then with his own band Toto, which over the years has given the workaholic plenty of time for other collaborations in various musical genres and half a dozen solo albums. The five times Grammy winner has recently lamented the fact that there isn’t really a need for session players anymore, and with the latest incarnation of Toto playing sporadic mini-tours and having no real interest in recording, it’s not really surprising that his solo CD’s are appearing with an increasing regularity. ‘Transition’ is a collaboration with long-time friend and keyboard player C.J. Vanston, with touring band members Eric Valentine (drums), Renee Jones (bass) and Steve Weingart (keys) also joined by some cameos from the likes of Phil Collen, Gregg Bissonette, Tal Wilkenfeld, Chad Smith and Toto bassists Lee Sklar and Nathan East.

As the name suggests, ‘Transition’ sees Luke coming out of a dark period in his life and the divorce, death and drink subjects that fuelled his previous two angst-ridden releases, with a possible downside being that his new found peace has resulted in a far more laid-back album. There’s more of a jazzy westcoast vibe to the material and nothing really rocks out, but Steve and co. are far too talented to ever release a sub-par album. Atmospheric intros and dreamy verses are the order of the day, sometimes kicking into a big memorable chorus like the highlights ‘Judgement Day’, ‘Right The Wrong’ and ‘Do I Stand Alone’. What hasn’t changed too much is that everything has sublime guitar and keyboard work all over it and Lukather’s distinctive voice can more than carry a tune, with his blues influences coming through on the catchy ‘Creep Motel’ and the more sedate ‘Rest Of The World’.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

‘Once Again’ is a great example of the Lukather ballad and would probably have been on a Toto album had they been in the market for recording one, and similarly the Jeff Porcaro-like groove and ‘Falling In Between’-style guitar chords of ‘Last Man Standing’ successfully match the old and new Toto, and you can’t really get away from those comparisons. Probably the bravest and most odd track is ‘Transition’ itself, which spends most of its running time seeming like an instrumental with a gentle Jeff Beck-influenced beginning and staccato progressive metal parts amongst its frequently changing landscape, only for it to have a short vocal part three-quarters in before returning to the original theme. Beck also rears his head on the subtle interpretation of the old classic ‘Smile’ that brings this album to a close.

‘Transition’ isn’t your usual Steve Lukather rock album like ‘Ever Changing Times’ and ‘All’s Well That Ends Well’ were, it’s far lighter than those, but it is a well-written, played and produced album with some spellbinding guitar and a few well-crafted hooks.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 17 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us