DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Pain - 'We Come In Peace' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 28, 2013    
0.0 (0)
8061   0   1   0   0   0




A sumptuous DVD/2CD set capturing two full performances.

For those of you who have never come across Pain before, it began as a musical project put together in the mid 90s by the multi-talented Peter Tägtgren, who is not only the guitarist/vocalist with Swedish melodic death metal band Hypocrisy but also a producer of some renown having twiddled the knobs for the likes of Dimmu Borgir, Children Of Bodom and Sabaton. Pain provided an outlet for his ambition to play industrial metal shot through with electronic and techno music. Seven studio albums later, Tägtgren’s Pain have built a loyal following, particularly in mainland Europe, and some of you may, in fact, have caught them supporting Nightwish on both their ‘Dark Passion Play’ and 'Imaginaerum' UK tours.

‘We Come In Peace’ is a sumptuous DVD/2CD set capturing two full performances shot during their recent tour in support of last year’s well received ‘You Only Live Twice’ album. The first was recorded at Debaser Medis, a homeland show in Stockholm, which turns out to be an unfeasibly small venue with a tight stage. Now club shows like this are usually frenetic and sweaty affairs; not this one! Their hometown crowd are curiously static and subdued, even during the more energetic numbers like ‘Zombie Slam’, I’m Going In’ and ‘Supersonic Bitch’. It doesn’t help that the band are rather immobile; preferring to stand, feet apart, just banging and windmilling their heads, rather than engage with the crowd. To cap it all, this show is interspersed with footage of backstage tomfoolery – where the band seems to have an unhealthy obsession for tying up their roadies! – and on the road shenanigans that mostly centre on excessive drinking. Apart from a nice piece shot at the album release party with Tägtgren’s son behind the drums thumping out the rhythm to ‘Great Pretender’ that segues into the live rendition of the same song; these add nothing to your viewing enjoyment and break the flow of an already soulless show.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The second show is miles better capturing their triumphant set at this year’s Masters Of Rock Festival in the Czech Republic. The crowd response is much more like it and the band seem to feed off it to produce a killer show mixing new songs like ‘Dirty Woman’ and the excellent Rammstein-esque ‘Fear The Demons’ with crowd pleasers such as ‘Walking On Glass’, ‘Same Old Song’ and ‘Shut Your Mouth’, where they are joined on stage by Exodus’ Rob Dukes; and their incendiary metalized version of The Beatles ‘Eleanor Rigby’ is worth the ticket price alone!

The accompanying CD’s are excellent; both crisply recorded. Although the Stockholm show fares much better in audio only format, the Masters Of Rock performance shades it once again. To be honest, I can see me returning to these more often than the DVD!

Despite my reservations, if you like your metal full of meaty yet melodic riffs and huge gang-vocal choruses; then you will find much to enjoy in this bulging package (steady!).

Alister Strachan

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 3 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site