CD Reviews

Vanderbuyst - 'Flying Dutchmen' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 02, 2013    
0.0 (0)
4270   0   1   0   0   0




Third album by the energetic Dutch trio Vanderbuyst.

Hard to believe it may be, but energetic Dutch trio Vanderbuyst are already on album number three; with their self-titled debut issued in 2010 and ‘In Dutch’ sneaking out at the tail end of 2011 they’re back in the racks again with ‘Flying Dutchmen’, an album that sees guitarist Willem Verbuyst, drummer Barry Van Esbroek and singer/bassist Jochem Jonkman taking a slightly different approach this time around.

So, what’s changed? Well, with the luxury of time on this album the band have made full use of being in the studio. ‘Flying Dutchmen’ has less of the spontaneity that emanates from ‘In Dutch’ and ‘Vanderbuyst’ and sounds more controlled, more thoughtful, more – dare I say it – polished that its predecessors. As Verbuyst explains: “You don’t want to release the same album twice so we decided to approach ‘Flying Dutchmen’ differently. This time we aimed for a more produced album. On ‘In Dutch’ there’s only one guitar; no overdubs, not even a rhythm guitar backing the solos. Apart from the vocals, we recorded it live. On ‘Flying Dutchmen’ you will find overdubs and rhythm guitars, even twin leads. During the recording sessions we even came up with extra guitar parts and vocal lines. So a part of the creative process was done in the studio. However, the basis was recorded live again on analogue tape in order to guarantee the energy and dynamics we like.”

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

So if the NWOBHM-style rawness of those first two albums wasn’t to your liking, the fuller sound should appeal to a wider audience. However, this is still very definitely and very recognisably the work of Vanderbuyst, a band who’ve developed an organic and distinctive sound that sets them aside from the rest of the pack. From the opening burst of ‘Frivolous Franny’ (with its swerve-ball time changes) to the almost swing-time rhythm of ‘Welcome To The Night’ (which like ‘Johnny Got Lucky’ features some guest soloing from Verbuyst’s former bandmate and mainstay of The Devil’s Blood Selim Lemouchi) the eleven songs on offer are short, tight and punchy, written and performed to hook you in and then leave without overstaying their welcome. If you want to draw the distinction – which personally I don’t – Vanderbuyst’s material is more rock than metal, with songs like ‘Lecherous’ being heavy more in a Blue Cheer than a Black Sabbath kind of way; it’s almost as if the band have zipped straight from the early Seventies to the twenty-first century with barely a glance at the intervening years. As ever, the playing is flawless throughout, and after 200-plus gigs Jonkman has grown immensely in his role as vocalist since that first album just two years ago.

I’d love to see this band live – I bet it’s one hell of a show. ‘Flying Dutchmen’ indeed!

John Tucker

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 3 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site