Year Of The Goat - 'Angels' Necropolis' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 14, 2013    
0.0 (0)
4195   0   1   0   0   0



I can’t recommend this album highly enough.

“In the graveyard for angels, in the Angels' Necropolis, is a tree which has grown mighty from absorbing the fluids from the angels’ decomposing corpses. Over time this tree has amassed angelic powers in its sap, powers sufficient to overthrow the very cosmos and tear open the gates of Heaven. For the fallen archangel Lucifer the sap of the tree offers endless possibilities to reign over eternity. He enters the Angels’ Necropolis, cuts the bark and drinks the sap, and then with his army of demons he wrenches open the gates of Heaven and makes war on God.”

So says vocalist/guitarist Thomas Eriksson of ‘Angels’ Necropolis’, the debut album from Sweden’s Year Of the Goat. Last year’s four-track EP ‘Lucem Ferre’ was a highly-regarded body of work, and the boys are back in town once more with a stunning full-length album. Put simply, in ‘Angels’ Necropolis’ Eriksson and his bandmates Per Brodesson and Don Palmroos (guitars), Poppe (keyboards), Tobias Resch (bass) and Fredrik Hellerstrom (drums) have crafted an album which not only takes on where ‘Lucem Ferre’ left off but expands the band’s horizons with a display of both magnificence and majesty. In a short space of time the Goatie boys have already established a sound which sets them apart from a number of other bands blending elements of Seventies’ progressive rock with contemporary metal; the lazy may lump them in with the likes of Ghost and Graveyard, but YotG have a distinctness to their sound, an edge which lifts them way above the rest of the pack.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The songs go from the sublime to the intense without a moment’s notice (‘Angels’ Necropolis’), hit you in the face with some beautifully fluid guitars (‘For The King’), boast a commercial accessibility (‘Spirits Of Fire’ – for which a video shoot is in the diary – and the recent 7” ‘This Will Be Mine’), display a wonderfully wicked NWOBHM vibe (‘A Circle Of Serpents’), and drip with malice and belligerence (‘Voice Of A Dragon’, which through a range of time-changes evokes the atmosphere of some early Black Sabbath classics). The attention-grabber though is certainly that title track, a precision-drilled masterclass in how to compose and perform an epic piece of music. At ten-and-a-half minutes, ‘Angels’ Necropolis’ demands full consideration from the off, and then literally explodes; the guitar work is forceful, the bass and drums intransigent and unyielding and the vocal phrasing melodic and catchy, and given the right exposure this song has the power to win over vast legions of new fans.

This is a great album, a truly great album, no doubt about it. Compelled as I am to see Year Of The Goat become megastars, I can’t recommend this album highly enough. And when I played it to our esteemed reviews editor he was soon seen rocking his socks off too. It’s the album of the year…

John Tucker

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 1 day ago
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site