The Amity Affliction - 'Chasing Ghosts' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 14, 2013    
0.0 (0)
5058   0   1   0   0   0

Third album by this Aussie four-piece.

This is the third album by this Aussie four-piece and they bear similarities to early Atreyu who are much heavier in places but can also surprise (check out ‘Lead Sails (And A Paper Anchor) Song’ or ‘No One Cares’ for example) and also fellow Post Hardcore/Screamo band Alexisonfire but are more melodic and accessible than their Canadian associates. Killswitch Engage are another reference point but K.E. are heavier and far more technical than The Amity Affliction who got their name following a close friend’s car accident at just 17 years of age (I can totally relate to that unfortunately). ‘Amity’ represents their friendship and ‘Affliction’ their struggle to deal with the aftermath.

Former guitarist but now bassist and ‘clean’ singer Ahren Stringer sounds very close to Fall Out boy vocalist Patrick Stump (though he probably won’t thank me for it!) and not too dissimilar to All Time Low’s Alex Gaskarth with a similarity in the melodic undercurrent of their bands. Main vocalist and lyricist Joel Birch though is very much the angst ridden driving force with the album centred on death in general and suicide in particular as evidenced on the opening title track as Birch wrote it as a narrative based wholly around someone who has committed suicide and realises there is no heaven or hell on the other side. With heavy double bass drumming by Ryan Burt and Birch’s screamo vocals underpinned by the melodic elements and Stringer’s clean vocals it’s a statement of intent.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

‘Open Letter’ is an empowering rallying cry from the band to their fans containing the beautifully sung melodic lines ‘I’m not searching the sky, for a reason to live, coz I found beauty right here, and the passion to give, so let me give you my heart, let me give you my tears, let me give you my life, when I give you my fears’. Contained among all the heavy elements it has more power and resonance as a result. Who said Aussies were uncivilised? Elsewhere ‘Greens Avenue’ has a melodic intro that gives way to screamo vocals and great drum patterns with good chord progressions from guitarist Troy Brady although second guitarist Imran Siddiqi did play on the album before leaving the band. Similarly, since keyboardist Trad Nathan left last year they haven’t officially replaced him yet despite keyboard elements embellishing the sound such as on the melodic and heavy ‘I Heart H.C.’ which is about religion saying there is no afterlife or heaven so don’t kill yourself thinking there’s something better. ‘Flowerbomb’ has a nice melodic chorus with terrific drumming and driving riffs whilst ‘Pabst Blue Ribbon On Ice’ takes its name from a Lana Del Ray song (and in turn from the Milwaukee beer company)

Clearly this will not be to everyone’s taste but the more open-minded Melodic Metal fans may find something to like – and it’s certainly good for getting rid of any unwanted angst!

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 1 day ago
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site