Trillion - 'Trillion' Hot

Added by James Gaden     May 05, 2010    
0.0 (0)
5788   0   1   0   0   0





Boundry pushing effort from 1978 featuring future Toto singer Fergie Frederiksen.

Considering that ‘popular music’ (for want of a better term) has continually crossed and re-crossed the Atlantic as acts on both sides have fought to outdo each other, it’s always intriguing when you chance upon one little sub genre that seems to get stuck along the way. Whilst much of Britain was busy washing the rancid spittle of punk out of its hair before immersing itself into the oft equally fetid cesspit of noise affectionately christened the NWOBHM for example; across the water an altogether cleaner, more cultured revolution was taking shape ... AOR/pomp rock.
Spearheaded by bands like Boston, Kansas, Styx, Angel, Toto and Foreigner; a new wave of lyrically articulate, melody friendly acts were capturing the imagination of a generation pinning its hopes and dreams on the dawning of a new, far more prosperous decade. Yet, whilst all of the aforementioned acts made their lasting mark on the boundless pages of history, if you knew just where to look there was a second tier of equally impressive bands who despite having the talent, didn’t quite achieve the same levels of acclaim ... bands like Zon, Mayday, Starcastle, and Trillion.
Based out of Chicago, Trillion drew its first breath in the mid 70’s, born from a mutual love of all things progressive shared by keyboard player Pat Leonard and drummer Bill Wilkins. Upon hearing the Boston debut, Wilkins suggested they should put a band together to celebrate their shared influences ... it was 1976. Quickly snapped up by Epic, before long Trillion found themselves in the studio with Gary Lyons (Foreigner, Lone Star, etc.) laying down the delicately manicured tracks that would eventually make up their eponymous debut release in 1978.
Offering a finely balanced blend of Totoesque AOR underpinned with a sophisticated assortment of progressive/pomp themes (think Starcastle, Styx, Queen, etc.), of all the North American bands to emerge at that particular time, Trillion had the most noticeably European influenced sound. Fronted by the crisp, resonating vocals of Denis ‘Fergie’ Frederiksen, Trillion imbued their songs with striking melodies and sophisticated hooks, both heightened by a bombastic, unashamedly pomp fuelled dynamic.
Kicking off with the brash ‘Hold Out’, the album may have been substantially less than 40 minutes in duration, but I guarantee you once heard it was 40 minutes you’d never forget!. ‘Big Boy’ (the heaviest song in their set) is a wonderfully piquant fusion of Angel, Queen and Boston influences, and then there’s ‘May As Well Go’, the dance rock of ‘Fancy Action’ and the almost Pink Floyd like ‘Child Upon The Earth’ ... all great tracks which showcase a band not afraid to transcend boundaries as if they never existed.
For some reason, ‘Trillion’ singularly failed to connect with its intended target audience, and although a second album (‘Clear Approach’) with Thom Griffin on vocals was released a couple of years later, the band faded away into relative obscurity. Thankfully though, yet another great remastering job from the Rock Candy team has given this sadly overlooked little gem a chance to shine once more.
Dave Cockett
Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 2 hours ago
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site