CD Reviews

Wild Rose - 'Dangerous' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     April 06, 2013    
0.0 (0)
2402   0   1   0   0   0





Highly recommended.

Originally formed in Greece in 2004 by Andy Rock (Andreas Peyos), the line-up changed considerably over the ensuing years, so it was 2011 before debut album ‘Half Past Midnight’ saw the light of day. Encouraged by the plaudits it received, 2012 was spent writing a follow-up, and ‘Dangerous’ is the result, though another line-up change has seen the arrival of Spanish/American singer/songwriter David A. Saylor on lead vocals.

Though the song-titles are rather formulaic (when I first saw the track-listing I thought it was a collection of covers – you’ll see what I mean!) the music is anything but. Yes, it’s as pure an AOR album as you can get, replete with glorious melodies, catchy choruses, emotional vocals, lush keyboards and concise guitar solos, but there’s enough within the music to keep things interesting without pushing the boundaries of this particular genre – the neat drum fills cut in when you don’t expect them to, stabs of keyboards dip in and out of the songs and vie for space with the rhythm guitar and there’s enough energetic thrust in the likes of ‘Alone’, ‘Hold On’, ‘Dream On’ and ‘Is This Love’ to encourage you to leap around and punch the air in delight. ‘I Won’t Forget You’ and ‘If You Still Love Me’ are an AOR lover’s wet-dream (the former embellished with subtle saxophone flourishes and a key-change that you just don’t expect), ‘I Can’t Stop Loving You’ and ‘Tonight’ are classy mid-tempo numbers and ‘Awake’ is the big keyboard-dominated power-ballad.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

There really isn’t a bad song on this album at all, and it’s wrapped up in a wonderful production from Andy Rock – if I do have any criticism at all, it’s that there are just too many fade-outs, something I’m sure our esteemed Reviews Ed will agree with! [Oh, yes!! PJS] Last Summer my Fireworks colleague Ian Johnson reviewed solo albums buy both Rock and David A. Saylor, giving them both the big thumbs up but also lamenting the fact that they don’t usually make AOR albums like this these days. Well, judging by the strength of the partnership forged here, things are looking up! I’m inclined to check out those two solo albums; anybody who already has will definitely appreciate what Wild Rose have to offer.

Highly recommended!

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 4 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us