CD Reviews

Orianthi - 'Heaven In This Hell' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 15, 2013    
0.0 (0)
4424   0   1   0   0   0



A musical triumph.

It's been three years since Orianthi released her second album 'Believe', an album of pop/rock anthems, bluesy hard rock plus a shred fest track with Steve Vai. In the intervening period, as I'm sure you all know, Ori has teamed up with Alice Cooper as his lead guitarist on two world tours, and with a further one lined up this year.

'Heaven...' is far from the obvious successor to 'Believe', but demonstrates a newly found maturity, having been recorded in Nashville with Dave Stewart (the ex-Eurythmics one) at the helm and containing more than a smidgeon of country influences along with some "swampy blues". In years to come, this southern flavour may be regarded as the album's signature characteristic but needless to say it also rocks out a- plenty and still retains much of the commercial appeal of its predecessor.

The album takes no prisoners during the opening salvo of 'Heaven...', 'You Don't Wanna Know' and 'Fire' as all showcase in no uncertain terms Ori's riff-heavy hard rock credentials, along with a soupçon of those "suvvern" tendencies here and there. 'If You Think You Know Me' is a more commercial, nu-countryish song with a glorious chorus that is one of several on the album with a tendency to burrow into the consciousness and have you singing along in no time. The initial bars of 'How Do You Sleep?' will have you believe you are listening to Joe Bonamassa; but it's Ori with one of the standout tracks of the album, lyrically, vocally and instrumentally. But the bloody thing fades...!!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Every song has been constructed to allow Ori to demonstrate her prowess as a guitarist across a wide stylistic range and with 'Frozen' it's heavy blues. Another commercial song, I especially like the harmonica counterpoint with the guitar in the second half of the track, while Dan Dugmore's pedal steel guitar adds a sublime touch throughout 'Rock'. 'Another You' continues the countryish feel, and is a glorious ballad. 'How Does That Feel?' has a telling lyric and is an absolutely smashing song, and another standout that lifts into a stratospheric second half. 'Filthy Blues' is stylistically evocative of post-Experience Hendrix, while album closer 'If You Were Here With Me' is the third standout number (this is such a strong album that others may well have their own choices), and a simply wonderful ballad: tingles down the spine stuff, in fact!

Eleven tracks...but go to iTunes and there are two more unavailable to purchasers of the physical version, a development I utterly deprecate, and is a real smack in the teeth of album buying fans, I believe. Indeed, the feeble and insubstantial packaging of the album also suggests that Robo Records is also pandering to the download generation. Two very black marks, but this album nonetheless registers as a musical triumph.

Paul Jerome Smith

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 3 hours ago
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site