Whitesnake - 'Made In Britain / The World Record' Hot

Added by James Gaden     July 18, 2013    
0.0 (0)
4062   0   1   0   0   0

A glorious live album that all ‘Snake fans should enjoy.

There is little to choose between my all time top three acts, but ask anyone who knows me well and they will say, without hesitation, that the one I’ve always been most consistently enthusiastic about is Whitesnake/David Coverdale. So forgive me for getting rather excited about this new Snake live album, especially as I was present at two nights that were recorded.

The first disc, ‘Made In Britain’ was recorded over the two UK legs of the Snake’s massive 2011 World Tour. The track selection is effectively a set list in order of the songs that featured at both of the concerts I went to. There are all the top tracks from the last album like ‘Steal Your Heart Away’, ‘Fare Thee Well’ and ‘Love Will Set You Free’. Then there are the expected all time favourites, ‘Love Ain’t No Stranger’, ‘Fool For Your Loving’ and of course ‘Here I Go Again’. Disc two, ‘The World Record’ features other songs that appeared intermittently from the tour but this time recorded on distant shores. These include ‘Can You Hear The Wind Blow’, ‘Slide It In’ and ‘The Deeper The Love’. They have even found space for the ‘Burn/Stormbringer’ medley although it seems odd to include ‘Fare Thee Well’ twice. To fit all the songs in, there is a lack of the charismatic Coverdale crowd banter on the ‘…Britain’ disc. But that is made up for on disc two with plenty of amusing comments and typical Coverdale charm and wit.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

I’ll say it loud and proud...I absolutely love this live release from ‘Snake. The two concerts I attended a year or so back were two of my all time favourites and this brings back so many fantastic memories. In my opinion this is the most dynamic guitar pairing in the bands history and here they are playing pretty much all my favourite tracks. I have no doubt some longer term fans will say this isn’t Coverdale at his best vocally (compared to the old days), and there is truth in that. But for me ‘Snake is about so much more; it’s about the songs, the humour and most importantly, as Coverdale would say, it’s all about the love. The production qualities are pretty perfect as is the balance between the band and audience.

All in all I think this is a glorious live album that all ‘Snake fans should enjoy, even if it’s for different reasons. I have played this album constantly since I received it and the more I listen to it the more I adore it. The best advice I can give is in the words of the great man himself...”all you have to do is sing with us, have as much fucking fun as you can and of course make as much noise as you possibly can”.

Dave Scott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 2 days ago
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site