CD Reviews

Osukaru - 'Triumphant' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 17, 2013    
0.0 (0)
6234   1   1   0   0   0





80's AOR in excelsis: if you want that, you got it.

"The second time as farce"? When Osukaru's first proper album was released last year, they flew pretty high; it was well reviewed and received. And so there's a little breath-holding here, a tiny expectation. And if it ain't broke...ah, guitarist Oz Osukaru doesn't subscribe to that. He's made some changes, upgrading the vocal team to Fredrik Werner and Cecilia Camuli in a step which should be a treat.

Well, it isn't. The problem is that they occasionally sound out of tune, they may not be of course, but they do sound like those "X-Factor" and "The Voice" contenders who certainly have tuning issues. Only occasionally, but it spoils the enjoyment somewhat. The music is a good offer, attempting to produce the über AOR sound which plenty should love; the title cut is a massive tune, sunny and widdling around the dancing vocals and blaring sax. 'Prisoner Of The Night' underlines it, tight riffing and that cobweb-clearing sax with a smoky sense thrown into the mix.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

We even have a pan pipe feel and John Farnham chanting, the almost-risible 'Walk In Balance' adding faux-operatic female vox and cod narrative almost tipping that balance. And then 'Mafia Rules' (really?) arrives, Oz turning his up his amp almost in a fit of pique, Fredrik pushing the rock, Cecilia supporting softly, grooving in the chorus, funking a little, a sax snaking around, the solo beautifully smooth.

Deluxe package, 14 tracks, well produced. Is it good? Yes. It is great? No. Is it bold? Undoubtedly. 80's AOR in excelsis; if you want that, you got it. By sidestepping the new breed in the market, this album may be the winner they want.

They might want to look at auto-tune, mind you.

Steve Swift

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (1)add comment

Franco Cerchiari said:

You know, when I heard Osukaru's had released a new album, I immediately replayed their quite enjoyable 2012 release 'Salvation.' So it was with excitement that I purchased their follow up, the release heard here. Especially great on 'Salvation,' was 'City Lights,' the fantastic guitars of 'Never Too Late,' and the hard hitting drums of the rocking 'Tear It Down.'

And then I heard 'Triumphant.' And the excitement cascaded into disappointment which then sent me putting this CD on a shelf with no real desire to hear it again. To be fair, it wasn't all bad. The soft 'Walking In Balance,' the uplifting 'Holding On To Memories,' (the vocals not withstanding,) were all good and also great was the strong mix of keyboards and guitars on 'Believe.'

The keyboards were excellent, the guitars strong, the overall production pretty good. But the vocals at time were such a let down it was hard to sit through the whole song - especially on 'Prisoner Of The Night,' 'Mafia Rules,' and the closing track 'The Fire Burns On.'

With a similarity to releases done by Mitch Malloy, the melodic sounds of Sparklands or Pride Of Lions, and the almost hard rocking Ambition, there was a desire to hope that 'Triumphant' would have been as good as was 'Salvation,' but with such a change in vocals styles that was so jarring the charm of 'Salvation' was lost. And that's a shame.
November 25, 2013
Votes: +0

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 23 hours ago
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site