LA Guns - 'Shrinking Violets' Hot

Added by James Gaden     August 03, 2010    
0.0 (0)
6100   0   1   0   0   0



Expanded Reissue of the classic album.

The re-issue of this classic L.A. Guns album is perfectly logical not only because singer Jizzy Pearl is now back in the band, as he was when it was originally recorded in 1999, but also because sadly at the time the album suffered from an almost non-existent distribution. ‘Shrinking Violet’ is indeed the only album that the Love/Hate and ex-Ratt singer Jizzy recorded with the gunners and the fact that it is signed to Steve Vai’s label speaks for itself, especially taking into consideration it was its very own General Manager, who approached the band.
Aside from the signature sleaze rock with a hint of blues songs that made it to the album (produced, by the way, by Gilby Clarke) back in the day enhanced by Tracii Guns’ guitar work and Jizzy’s characteristic vocal, what is most interesting about this CD and what makes it a ‘deluxe edition’ is the inclusion of five live tracks recorded last year in Texas, the all-time favourites ‘Rip And Tear’, ‘Never Enough’, ‘The Ballad Of Jayne’ and ‘One More Reason’ (all of them released in different albums) as well as ‘Decide’,  on this album replacing the original studio version. On these never before released live tracks, drummer Chad Stewart and bassist Jeremy Guns replace Steve Riley and Johnny Crypt, respectively, who originally performed on the record.
This re-issue is certified as a statement that the group lead and founded by guitarist Tracii Guns are ready to keep rocking and bringing new material to the table, hopefully in the summer of 2011 as Tracii mentioned in an interview somewhere else in these pages. Any L.A. Guns fan that could not get their hands on this album the first time around should get a copy now. The team that is Tracii and Jizzy, not to be confused with Phil Lewis’ and Steve Riley’s co-existing version of L.A. Guns, prove sleaze rock is not dead. Expect at least a couple of tracks off this album when they come to play at Hard Rock Hell and elsewhere in December.
Mónica Castedo-López
Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 4 weeks ago
  • Johns Band : Will videos appear again in watch and listen. Good way for who albums to buy. I have Wrathchild - Live From London on DVD that might have been here. YouTube have averts now.
  • Berny : @rocktu: We used to produce a series of podcasts that were available for download on Rocktopia. Other than that, there's no radio station I am aware of.
  • rocktu : Hi i would like to know was there ever a radio station of fireworks
  • rocktu : Hi
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #93 is out now! : - )
  • Berny : Hello @zigma33, you should have received a download link two days ago. Could you pls check your inboxes? Many thanks, B. :)
  • zigma33 : Hi! I purchased your latest issue #92 yesterday but never received my download.
  • daveomd : Got it along with my download, everything looks great! Thanks, Dave
  • Berny : @daveomd: We sent you a mail immediately after your purchase, and have just sent another email now. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • daveomd : I purchased your latest issue #92 but never received my download.
  • Berny : @Hysteria & @KI2000: Many thanks for your kind words! :)
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!
  • KI2000 : Love the new issue guys, great magazine!
  • Berny : @Mugi89: Your confirmation mail was sent on the 22nd, I've just sent it again. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • Mugi89 : Hi! I purchased my digital copy of issue 92 2 days ago but still didn't receive it. When am I gonna be able to download it? thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site