Concert Reviews

Halestorm / In This Moment Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 11, 2014    
0.0 (0)
5518   0   1   0   0   0



Halestorm / In This Moment - Rock City, Nottingham (UK) - 11th March 2013

A Monday night would never be my ideal choice to see a live show, especially when it involves a five and a half hour round trip in weather conditions that generally form the basis of a Hollywood disaster movie, and also when I have to work the next day. Tonight is different though. I'm a big In This Moment fan and this is my first chance to see the band perform live. The fact that I am also conducting an interview with lead singer Maria Brink prior to the show, in a warm tour bus away from the sub zero Nottingham temperatures, is an added incentive.

Due to what seems like a lack of organisation I miss the opening band of the night, Sacred Mother Tongue. There are a large number of people still queuing to get in the venue as the band finish their last song and take their leave. It just gives me time to take my place in the photo pit, for the first few songs of In This Moment's short set. As the lights dim and Maria appears centre stage to tease us with 'Rise With Me', the atmospheric opening track from the latest 'Blood' CD. Clad in leather suspender belt and stockings, with a rubber like shirt, she is an image from most men's fantasies and holds the attention like few other vocalists I can think of. The sound is a little shaky at the start but once it settles down, the band take no prisoners. Maria's main partner in crime, diminutive guitarist Chris Howorth, pulls more faces than Jim Carrey as he riffs and solos through some brutal but infectiously melodic songs. The set concentrates on the new CD, only 'Blazin' – from 'Star-Crossed Wasteland' – breaking up the 'Blood' repertoire. Maria informed me that In This Moment would hopefully be back in June on their own terms and if that is true then my birthday month could be extra special.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

If I'm honest, I'm really in Nottingham to see In This Moment so I'm treating their appearance with Halestorm as a bonus. This is my third Halestorm show in 12 months or so and the fact that Rock City is packed solid highlights just how far they have come, and how much their popularity has increased, since I first saw them supporting Theory Of A Deadman, a mere three years ago. Sophomore release, 'The Strange Case Of...', appeared in a number of 2012 top 5 lists and the band has since been recognised further by the music industry with a Grammy award. The energy levels are high and Lzzy commands the stage like a high-heeled Goddess. Arejay is one of the most entertaining drummers I've seen in recent times, pretty much a show on his own at times. Josh and Joe are the band's unassuming bass player and guitarist, integral to the band but content it seems to let Lzzy, and to a lesser extent Arejay, take most of the plaudits. They tear through 'Freak Like Me', 'Love Bites', 'Dirty Work', 'Rock Show' and 'Daughters Of Darkness' before treating us to a run through Dio's 'Straight Through The Heart'. The highlight of tonight's performance for me is Lzzy's solo spot, 'Break In', followed by an equally mesmerising 'Bitter Taste Of Posion'. Emotional on many levels and a showcase for some great vocals and songwriting.

It wasn't the greatest show ever but I think that may have been due to a combination of factors that had nothing to do with the bands. In terms of value for money however, how could you argue with the £10 ticket price!

Dave Bott


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 10 hours ago
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site