Bachman Turner - 'Bachman Turner' Hot

Added by James Gaden     August 20, 2010    
0.0 (0)
9308   0   1   0   0   0




New album from the Bachman Turner Overdrive duo.


A rather unlikely union between old partners Randy Bachman and Fred Turner raised some eyebrows when it was announced, and the fact that they decided to work together, make a brand new record and tour again had people pleased, but questioning what the new material would be like. I should know, because when I ended up being the guy to cover the union for Fireworks, that’s exactly what I was thinking.

It all came out of a Randy Bachman solo album... at least, that was the plan. Bachman was writing songs with a view to having guest singers perform, and one particular track made Randy stop and think about Fred Turner, as it would be ‘perfect for his gritty, refrigerator-sized voice’. Turner, who had been retired from music for several years, agreed and the results impressed the pair so much it morphed into a full on reunion album.

This isn’t Bachman Turner Overdrive - the pair decided to simply use their own names rather than tie themselves to their old band and former members. However, it does sound very much like their previous band, which is neither surprising nor unwelcome!

‘Rollin’ Along’ opens proceedings, and it’s straight out of the Overdrive bag of tricks... it’s got Fred’s gritty powerhouse voice, thumping bass line, chunky power chords and a driving beat. It’s in a very similar vein to ‘Roll On Down The Highway’ and shows that despite their time apart, the magic is still very much there between Bachman and Turner. ‘That’s What It Is’ follows with Randy on vocals, and features a more breezy and jazzier chord structure which tips its hat to other BTO classics like ‘Let It Ride’. Follow up track ‘Moonlight Rider’ has an funky feel with another great Turner vocal, and I would imagine most BTO fans would be sold on it by now.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Definitely worth highlighting is ‘Slave To The Rhythm’ which I am informed has been chosen as a single. This is a classic song with a great up tempo feel and singalong chorus section. I heard them do this live at the warm up show and it was fantastic, and everyone joined in in no time, despite me being one of the only people there to have heard it previously.

It’s not all good news - maybe it’s just me, but the track that Fred was invited to sing on which started this whole thing is ‘Rock And Roll Is The Only Way Out’ which, while having a cool guitar intro, has a real turkey of a verse. It sounds like something Marines would sing when they’re jogging in bad war films, and the chorus is no better. This was given away for free on the Bachman Turner website - and while I think if any song on this record should be given away it’s this one, it’s a poor advertisement for some of the other great stuff on here.

‘Neutral Zone’ or ‘Repo Man’ for example are miles better, both with a ZZ Top feel, and there’s the cool ‘Traffic Jam’ with it’s laid back vibe. That said though, the pair have offered up twelve brand new tracks, and only one didn’t do it for me, which is a pretty damn good ratio. There’s plenty of big guitars, BTO hallmarks and a great, guitar heavy production to suit Overdrive fans, and considering nobody, including Fred Turner, expected an album from he and Randy again, one dud out of twelve means this is a surprising and pleasant return from a pair of rock stalwarts.

James Gaden


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month ago
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»
  • Adolfo : My e - mail
  • Adolfo : I don't have any e - mail.
  • Berny : @Adolfo: Pls. check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • Adolfo : I have order the #94 but I can't find the download
  • RockingHerb : Thank You Berny.
  • Berny : Hello @snowwolf: Pls. check your mail! Thanks in advance! B.
  • snowwolf : I bought the new issue at noon yesterday and it is now 4am the next day. Any idea when I’ll be able to download it?
  • Berny : @RockingHerb: Many thanks for your purchase. Pls. check your mail.
  • RockingHerb : When will my recent purchase show in my downloads. there is a message saying up to 3 hours is this correct
  • Johns Band : Will videos appear again in watch and listen. Good way for who albums to buy. I have Wrathchild - Live From London on DVD that might have been here. YouTube have averts now.
  • Berny : @rocktu: We used to produce a series of podcasts that were available for download on Rocktopia. Other than that, there's no radio station I am aware of.
  • rocktu : Hi i would like to know was there ever a radio station of fireworks
  • rocktu : Hi
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #93 is out now! : - )
  • Berny : Hello @zigma33, you should have received a download link two days ago. Could you pls check your inboxes? Many thanks, B. :)
  • zigma33 : Hi! I purchased your latest issue #92 yesterday but never received my download.
  • daveomd : Got it along with my download, everything looks great! Thanks, Dave
  • Berny : @daveomd: We sent you a mail immediately after your purchase, and have just sent another email now. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • daveomd : I purchased your latest issue #92 but never received my download.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site