CD Reviews

Danny Vaughn - 'Reprise' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 10, 2010    
0.0 (0)
5698   0   1   0   0   0





2-disc set containing the first 2 Vaughn albums.

This is a 2-disc set containing the first 2 Vaughn albums Danny released after leaving Tyketto in 1995, namely ‘Soldiers And Sailors On The Riverside’ and ‘Fearless’. Initially released by Z Records, ‘SASOTR’ appeared in 2001 and was well received, but when ‘Fearless’ arrived the following year, poor distribution led to it being difficult to get hold of, and it would soon be deleted. As Danny would later quip, ‘You want to get rid of the AIDS virus? Give it to Z Records to distribute!’ As with the Tyketto album ‘Strength In Numbers’, the rights are now owned by Danny himself and
The five years Danny spent out of the music business gave him plenty of time to come up with the material on ‘SASOTR’, and he would then hook up with his ex-Tyketto bandmates drummer Michael Clayton Arbeeny and bassist Jaimie Scott, and add newcomers P.J. Zitarosa on guitar and Kyle Cummings on keyboards. For the most part the songs are a far cry from Tyketto, but ‘Is That All There Is’ and ‘Shadowlands’ hinted at past glories. The rest of the tunes are more eclectic, but still work very well, as Danny’s voice and charisma carry them through. From moody, powerful opener ‘Bad Water’, to the soulful ‘Healing Hands’, through the funk of ‘Stone Monkey’, the stomping rhythm of ‘Gandy Dancer’ and the Americana of ‘Paradise Ain’t Home’ and the piano-led title track, and topped off with the two moving ballads ‘Handful Of Rain’ and ‘The Voice’. The fun ‘hidden’ track ‘I Want To Get To Know You’ from the original is also here, but this time around it’s given an official credit.
‘Fearless’ on the other hand is much more of a rock album. The opening title track is probably the most contemporary sounding song Danny has ever recorded, and a great live song, and there are plenty of Tyketto style anthems such as ‘Haunted’, ‘Fly Away’, ‘A Million Miles Of Road’, ‘Was There A Moment’ and ‘Just Like That’, while the heartfelt ballad ‘When You Walk Away’ is one of Danny’s most poignant lyrics and moving performances ever. Only the acoustic led ‘Dulcimer Street’ hints at the diversity of the previous album.
Disc 1 also includes the bonus tracks that originally appeared on the ‘Is That All There Is’ EP; ‘House Of Cards’ is the closest-sounding to Bruce Springsteen Danny has ever been, and in my opinion one of his finest songs, and there is also a commentary from Danny from 2002 about the recording of the ‘SASOTR’ album. Disc 2 has a 25-minute interview with Mr. Vaughn conducted by Michael Clayton Arbeeny, which brings things right up to date, and culminates in a new live acoustic version of ‘Soldiers And Sailors’ featuring current Tyketto keyboardist Bobby Lynch. A great opportunity to get hold of two very fine albums from one of the best vocalists in music today. Available from

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 6 hours ago
  • Berny : @ARONITY: Thanks for your order. As stated in the item's description, it can take up to three hours for your purchase to be processed. You should have received a mail containing the download instructions by now. Thanks for your patience!
  • ARONTY : Hi, Just ordered #88 pdf, Paypal show the payment, but no d/l link, please help..
  • Berny : @John: Pls. check your mail, this should have been sorted by now. Apologies for the delay!
  • johnmason : Hi. I paid for #88 and it doesn't show up in the licenses/Downloads and I never received any email telling me how to download it.
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks Magazine #88 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks Berny got it
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Not sure why the password disappeared, but it's back. Pls. download your copy from the usual place (i.e. Fireworks - > Bonus CD 87 on the TOP menu). Have fun! :)
  • SeaDog57 : Berny looking for the link and password to Issue 87 free music
  • Berny : @yvesrock: Apologies for the troubles. I've just sent you an email.
  • yvesrock : Hi,I ordered the 11th june the new Fireworks' magazine (issue 87) and I didn't receive it. Can you see if you sent it ? Best wishes Yves
  • yvesrock : Hi,
  • Berny : @Gazza2005: Please accept my apologies for the delay in processing your order. You should have received a confirmation mail by now. We are really trying our best to fix the payment issue as soon as possible. Thanks for your patience! PS: It seems as if you sent the payment twice, we sent you a refund.
  • Gazza2005 : I have bought issue 80 and I still ha e not had confirmation of my download. Please could this be sorted out
  • Gazza2005 : Hello. Can someone direct me to my download please
  • Gazza2005 : Can someone help please
  • Gazza2005 : It’s Fireworks 80
  • Gazza2005 : Just paid for my online version / download but I keep getting failure message. All paid for so what is going on
  • Berny : Sorted! Thanks for your patience, enjoy the magazine! :)
  • HenningHallq : Hey guys! I purchased FIREWORKS #87 yesterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account. Can you help me with this? Thanks a lot!
  • Siodmak : Really thanks !!!!
  • Berny : @Siodmak: Pls. do not worry about the error message, we currently have to process orders manually because of a n issue with our payment system. I do not want to bore you with technical details, but the redirection from PayPal to our shop does not work as it should, that's why your purchase is not assigned automatically. We are working on it! Sorry for the troubles & thanks for your understanding. We hope you like the new issue of Fireworks! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys : - ) same problem as with previous number: just purchased Fireworks Mag. 87, and this is the message: "We are sorry, but it looks like your transaction failed". I've paid it with paypol. Thanks for your help!!
  • Berny : @Raphone @colorvine: You should have received your download instructions by now, if you haven't, pls. send a mail to «email» - Sorry for the troubles!
  • colorvine : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Raphone : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #87 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site