CD Reviews

Saraya - 'Saraya' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 11, 2010    
0.0 (0)
6486   0   1   0   0   0






Re-issue of Saraya's classic debut album.

My colleagues here at Fireworks magazine always manage to pull off a surprise or two when announcing the Firefest line-up each year, and surely the biggest this year has to be the inclusion of Saraya, who are due to return after an eighteen year hiatus. It was almost inevitable that a re-issue of their classic debut album would soon appear, but to be honest it’s long overdue, as the originals fetch a hefty price on Ebay. Unlike today’s scene, there weren’t really too many females in rock music at the tail-end of the eighties. The likes of Vixen, Lita Ford and Femme Fatale garnered attention in going for the sexual, visual approach, but Saraya were more content to let the music do the talking, and were all the better for it. Obviously Sandi was always going to be the focal point, but it was just a little more subtle and sophisticated, with the voice more important than the looks.
Formed in 1987 by Sandi and keyboardist Gregg Munier (who passed away in 2006), and originally known as Alsace Lorraine (the title of a short instrumental on the album), the line-up expanded to include guitarist Tony Rey (the original axeman in Danger Danger), bassist Gary Taylor and drummer Chuck Bonfante. The music created was classy hard rock rather than the poppy AOR that Vixen and Heart were offering at the time. Even to this day, the swaggering opener ‘Love Has Taken It’s Toll’ still puts a smile on my face whenever I hear it, the bluesy acoustic opening giving way to a huge riff from Rey, the driving rhythm propelling the song along, and topped with Sandi’s husky vocal delivery. And there isn’t a bad track on the album, from the commercial ‘Healing Touch’ and ‘Back To The Bullet’ through the hard rock of ‘One Night Away’ and the pulsating ‘Runnin’ Out Of Time’ to the moody ‘Gypsy Child’ and ‘St. Christopher’s Medal.’
As for bonus tracks, two songs from the slightly heavier sophomore release ‘When The Blackbird Sings’ are included, namely ‘Seducer’ and ‘In The Shade Of The Sun’, and the bonus track that originally appeared on the ‘Seducer’ single, the fiery ‘Chainsmokin.’ Also present is the power ballad ‘Timeless Love’ which originally appeared on the soundtrack to the movie ‘Shocker.’ It may still be too soon to talk about a new album, but roll on Firefest and we’ll see where things go from there. For now, it’s a great opportunity to get hold of a rock classic. Every home should have one.

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site