CD Reviews

Legacy - 'Legacy' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 11, 2010    
0.0 (0)
4469   0   1   0   0   0






This quintet from Ohio encapsulates everything commercial metal was at the tail end of the eighties.

If you grew up in the United States in the late eighties, were fed on a musical diet of Dokken and Stryper , read the bible a lot and then formed a band, then there’s every chance you would end up sounding like Legacy. This quintet from Ohio encapsulates everything commercial metal was at the tail end of the eighties. Eonian, the record label, really does make CSI look like amateurs when it comes to unearthing interesting finds. 
This record wasn’t released back in 1988, partly down to bad luck and partly down to the fact that some of the material, if I put my hand on my heart, is fairly average. The production does have a pleasantly upfront guitar sound, and while it is a little raw in places, it hasn’t dated as badly as many records of that era. Singer Doug Meacham is a cross between Michael Sweet of Stryper and Don Dokken, but not as strong as either and warbles a tad when he tries to hit the high notes, which gets a little wearing after several tracks. It’s not overly detrimental to the record as there are some half decent harmonies on the choruses which compensate for any vocal shortcomings.
Guitarists Matt Rice and Fred Blanchard rock pretty hard such as on ‘Cross The Line’ which emphasises their heavy rhythm sound. ‘Forever In Your Arms’ and ‘Change Of A Broken Heart’ are their AOR friendly efforts and ‘Don’t Run Away’ would have been worth some MTV rotation in its day. ‘Red, White And Blue’ is very Dokken-esque, although the ‘God bless America’ lyrics won’t appeal to everyone. Indeed, the Christian message leaves you in no doubt that the love they’re singing about isn’t for the girl next door but for the guy upstairs. If you share the same beliefs or can get past them, then there is some fun, albeit generic, to be had over the fourteen tracks.
Unusually, the strongest material comes at the end of the disc, which makes me wonder if it was recorded at a different time than the preceding songs. ‘One Way Or Another’ has the best hook, closely followed by ‘Live It’ and ‘What A World’ is a potent in-your-face rocker.
This may have narrower appeal than some of the recent releases on Eonian Records but if you’re partial to Christian rock or Dokken then you’ll find something to like here.

Duncan Jamieson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 4 hours, 48 minutes ago
  • rockcompany : hi, ordered a bunch of magazines yesterday but still have not received a download. Also the order is not showing in my account?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site