Pretty Wild - 'Pretty Wild' Hot

Added by Franco     June 18, 2014    
0.0 (0)
1942   0   1   0   0   0




Wonderfully crisp production, snappy guitar solos and immense choruses, what's not to like?

I admit that the debut album from Sweden's Pretty Wild completely passed me by back in 2008. This was probably because I'd just dismissed them as yet another trashy Sleaze Rock band. Turns out I was wrong...

Sure, they look like a typical Sleaze/Glam band, but thankfully they don't go in for the ridiculous stage names. Undeniably it's Sleaze that underpins the PW sound, though it's less Hardcore Superstar and Crashdiet and more in the style of Crazy Lixx and Reckless Love. But in all honesty PW owes more to the likes of Firehouse, Trixter and Danger Danger due to the huge grooves, powerful melodies and sing-along choruses. Certainly a healthy selection of the songs on 'Pretty Wild' wouldn't sound out of place on that awesome Firehouse debut, partly down to the fact that vocalist Ivan Ivve Höglund has a similar style to C.J. Snare.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The whole album is packed full of eighties Stadium Rock styled anthems, no less than fourteen of 'em; from the Hard-Rockin' groove of opening salvo 'Are You Ready', 'Get It On' and 'Troubled Water', through the more melodic and hook-filled 'Alive', 'Ready To Go', 'Blow The Night', 'Come Out Tonight' (which owes a debt of gratitude to Wig Wam), 'Hold On' and 'Pretty Wild'. If that isn't enough there is the high-tempo 'Staring At The Sun' and harder-edged 'Wildside' as well as the genuinely classy ballads 'All I Want', 'High Enough' (not the Damn Yankees one) and 'Vampire'. There is certainly not a filler in sight.

Wonderfully crisp production, snappy guitar solos and immense choruses, what's not to like? The Swedes have gone and done it again and it looks like I'll have to track down the debut album and eat some humble pie.

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us