CD Reviews

Wyldsky - 'Wyldsky' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 14, 2010    
0.0 (0)
3039   0   1   0   0   0




Rock record that harks back to the 80s.

The eponymous CD from Wyldsky is a rock record that harks back to the 80s, to the kind of bands who were in turn inspired by the 70s rock groups. The band’s central figure is Tyler Nelson whose membership in Great White is slightly overstated in the promotional blurb as he was only in the band from 2003 to 2005, not exactly the greatest era for the band or their fans. However, they do share that classic rock sound familiar to Jack Russell and co, but with less of the Led Zeppelin influences and instead replace this with a more southern rock feel. A couple of the band used to play with the Stetson wearing Alligator Stew and they bring that finger lickin’ good Southern sensibility to the music. Nelson may not be Jack Russell in the vocal department but he does have a sturdy, gravely voice that reminded me at different times of Ron Young of Little Caesar and Gary Moon who had a brief stint with Night Ranger. While his voice is serviceable, it’s his guitar playing that defines the sound of the record. He’s in no hurry and plays his riffs and solos with a sureness of touch and considerable depth. Many tracks rely heavily on a medium paced old school groove, powered by Michael Lesniak’s reliable drumming. 

It’s the up-tempo numbers which work best such as the dirty groove of ‘Dog Daze’, the pole dancing , Aerosmith pout of ‘Wild Honey’ , that also has a whiff of Baton Rouge or King Baby, and the Quireboys meets Canned Heat chugging ‘My Baby’.

The record changes direction slightly on the ballads ‘Rendezvous’ ,where the overwrought guitar parts echo Slash and Nelson’s vocal phrasing is very redolent of Axel Rose which leads to inevitable Guns N Roses comparisons, and ‘Nightmare And A Dream’ has the shabby charm of Dogs D’Amour. ‘Comin’ On’ with its schizoid riff and more modern Shinedown style influences suggest the band have not only been listening to old vinyl records. There’re no obvious radio hits but it’s great to know that while grunge knocked this kind of rock onto the canvas in the 90s it has refused to stay down and has still got plenty of fight left in it.

Duncan Jamieson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month ago
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site