Book & Magazine Reviews

Henry Yates & Walter Trout - 'Rescued From Reality: The Life And Times Of Walter Trout' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 22, 2014    
15183   0   1   0   0   0

The journey Trout took and the honesty in which he talks about his life makes this book truly fascinating.

Published by: MLG Publishing

Walter Trout is a well-respected blues guitarist, who before venturing on an acclaimed solo career was in Canned Heat and John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers. Put like that, this book sounds marginally interesting; however the journey Trout took and the honesty in which he talks about his life makes this book truly fascinating.

Written by Henry Yates as a transcript of many hours of interviews with Trout, the story stretches from a far from idyllic childhood in Ocean City, New Jersey (yes, Trout is part of the auspicious NJ alumni) to the present day.  The present day consists of the launch of a new album, ‘The Blues Came Callin’ and a debilitating liver condition and subsequent transplant which has resulted in a dramatic weight loss with Trout now almost unrecognisable.

Sandwiched in between this A4 sized book are astounding high quality colour photos of the man in action; unquestionably one of the blues rock greats with his band who are virtuosos in their own right.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

In terms of key stories in the book, Trout moving away from drugs and drink is told earnestly but his marriage to Marie Brændgaard takes primacy. They have three children together and Marie also became his manager and turned his life around financially. As a result since the mid-90s, Trout has been in charge of his own destiny and can chose producers and recording locations etc. and has become such a force in the Blues Rock world.

There are no discographies or tour lists included, it is not that type of book; the story of Trout is told via Henry Yates in a high level way dipping into specific detail as appropriate. However, there is certainly enough for the reader to discover the true essence of Trout’s story and its lows and highs. It is clear that Trout is very supportive of young musicians making their way through the ranks - probably due to his mixed experience with his brushes with heroes (for example Duke Ellington being inspirational, whereas some notable others were much less impressive).

Hopefully there is much more to come of Walter Trout; the current news (just post the end of this book) is that Trout has had a liver transplant but there are complications and the operation was just one important step on his road to recovery. 

Rob McKenzie

Paperback, 128 pages, 10.5” x 8”, colour and b&w photos throughout.
Details at

Share this on the web.

Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us