CD Reviews

Vonassi - 'The Battle Of Ego' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 17, 2010    
0.0 (0)
4030   0   1   0   0   0



Extremely refreshing album by a new band.

This is the debut from the band formed by Jeff Vaughn (drums, guitars and keyboards), Vince Buonassi (bass, guitars and keyboards) and vocalist, Chase Carter who got together in late 2007.

I wasn’t know what to expect when I first put this album on the CD player but it’s fair to say I wasn’t expecting what I heard as Vonassi have created something rather interesting in the way they have amalgamated some seemingly diverse influences and produced an eclectic but very enjoyable collection of songs.

My first impression was that the band had based their sound on that of Kings X in both the song construction and the vocal stylings of Carter, who has a remarkable similarity to Dug Pinnick, however as the songs come and go a number of other artists come to mind and some of them will be surprising because of their diversity. Spock’s Beard and Enchant may not come as a shock but how about, Squeeze, Elvis Costello and Joe Jackson all of whom come to mind from time to time?

‘The Drudge’ opens up proceedings with a grungy riff and a verse that is pure Kings X, although the chorus has a modern era Spock’s Beard feel that is extremely memorable.

‘Gini’ takes the tempo down and has a more traditional Prog feel, with SB being the comparison, initially. The chorus injects more energy than is in evidence on the acoustically driven verses. ‘Beginnings’ is a delightful neo-Prog style arrangement with a very nice refrain and some terrific guitar. The mid paced tempo picks up towards the end and the guitar takes on a more Rocking’ approach. This is a really top song that closes with some fantastic vocal harmonies.

‘Strong Arm Welfare’ crosses Kings X dynamics with the Costello style arrangement with an interesting result that makes for a good song, although the chorus doesn’t hit all the right buttons. ‘Posing for the Gold’ is a short but sweet ballad that has more acoustic guitar and a strong refrain combined with a lovely vocal arrangement. Cleverly, the song suddenly bursts in the title track, which makes you think you’re still listening to the previous song. The bass is excellent and the gritty guitar is a delight. Continuing the theme from earlier this track melds seamlessly into ‘Authenticity’ which has a bass and piano theme before the grungy guitar takes over before the lyrics from the previous song are repeated and a fine guitar solo rounds out the affair nicely.

‘Open Hands’ has a wonderful theme that puts me in mind of Enchant. It features some more fine soloing and is a terrific song, whilst ‘In the Mirror’ manages to come up with yet another memorable theme in a moody sort of way.

‘The Now Game’ has that Enchant feel and yet more great bass, although the vocal arrangement again harks at Kings X whilst ‘Field of View’ makes me think of Steely Dan playing quicker than usual on the verses and the bridge is glorious, but the chorus seems at odds with that.
To close the album we have ‘Coiled’ which is the album’s epic. Whereas most of the songs on the album come in under five minutes, this one is double that as it pretty much mixes all those influences that have gone before. At times the vocals get a bit over the top, but fortunately they don’t persist with that style.

This is an extremely refreshing album by a new band and I’ve enjoyed it a great deal because of the way they have successfully brought together a range of styles.

Gary Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 23 hours, 56 minutes ago
  • Berny : @John: Pls. check your mail, this should have been sorted by now. Apologies for the delay!
  • johnmason : Hi. I paid for #88 and it doesn't show up in the licenses/Downloads and I never received any email telling me how to download it.
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks Magazine #88 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks Berny got it
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Not sure why the password disappeared, but it's back. Pls. download your copy from the usual place (i.e. Fireworks - > Bonus CD 87 on the TOP menu). Have fun! :)
  • SeaDog57 : Berny looking for the link and password to Issue 87 free music
  • Berny : @yvesrock: Apologies for the troubles. I've just sent you an email.
  • yvesrock : Hi,I ordered the 11th june the new Fireworks' magazine (issue 87) and I didn't receive it. Can you see if you sent it ? Best wishes Yves
  • yvesrock : Hi,
  • Berny : @Gazza2005: Please accept my apologies for the delay in processing your order. You should have received a confirmation mail by now. We are really trying our best to fix the payment issue as soon as possible. Thanks for your patience! PS: It seems as if you sent the payment twice, we sent you a refund.
  • Gazza2005 : I have bought issue 80 and I still ha e not had confirmation of my download. Please could this be sorted out
  • Gazza2005 : Hello. Can someone direct me to my download please
  • Gazza2005 : Can someone help please
  • Gazza2005 : It’s Fireworks 80
  • Gazza2005 : Just paid for my online version / download but I keep getting failure message. All paid for so what is going on
  • Berny : Sorted! Thanks for your patience, enjoy the magazine! :)
  • HenningHallq : Hey guys! I purchased FIREWORKS #87 yesterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account. Can you help me with this? Thanks a lot!
  • Siodmak : Really thanks !!!!
  • Berny : @Siodmak: Pls. do not worry about the error message, we currently have to process orders manually because of a n issue with our payment system. I do not want to bore you with technical details, but the redirection from PayPal to our shop does not work as it should, that's why your purchase is not assigned automatically. We are working on it! Sorry for the troubles & thanks for your understanding. We hope you like the new issue of Fireworks! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys : - ) same problem as with previous number: just purchased Fireworks Mag. 87, and this is the message: "We are sorry, but it looks like your transaction failed". I've paid it with paypol. Thanks for your help!!
  • Berny : @Raphone @colorvine: You should have received your download instructions by now, if you haven't, pls. send a mail to «email» - Sorry for the troubles!
  • colorvine : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Raphone : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #87 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site