CD Reviews

Vonassi - 'The Battle Of Ego' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 17, 2010    
0.0 (0)
5159   0   1   0   0   0



Extremely refreshing album by a new band.

This is the debut from the band formed by Jeff Vaughn (drums, guitars and keyboards), Vince Buonassi (bass, guitars and keyboards) and vocalist, Chase Carter who got together in late 2007.

I wasn’t know what to expect when I first put this album on the CD player but it’s fair to say I wasn’t expecting what I heard as Vonassi have created something rather interesting in the way they have amalgamated some seemingly diverse influences and produced an eclectic but very enjoyable collection of songs.

My first impression was that the band had based their sound on that of Kings X in both the song construction and the vocal stylings of Carter, who has a remarkable similarity to Dug Pinnick, however as the songs come and go a number of other artists come to mind and some of them will be surprising because of their diversity. Spock’s Beard and Enchant may not come as a shock but how about, Squeeze, Elvis Costello and Joe Jackson all of whom come to mind from time to time?

‘The Drudge’ opens up proceedings with a grungy riff and a verse that is pure Kings X, although the chorus has a modern era Spock’s Beard feel that is extremely memorable.

‘Gini’ takes the tempo down and has a more traditional Prog feel, with SB being the comparison, initially. The chorus injects more energy than is in evidence on the acoustically driven verses. ‘Beginnings’ is a delightful neo-Prog style arrangement with a very nice refrain and some terrific guitar. The mid paced tempo picks up towards the end and the guitar takes on a more Rocking’ approach. This is a really top song that closes with some fantastic vocal harmonies.

‘Strong Arm Welfare’ crosses Kings X dynamics with the Costello style arrangement with an interesting result that makes for a good song, although the chorus doesn’t hit all the right buttons. ‘Posing for the Gold’ is a short but sweet ballad that has more acoustic guitar and a strong refrain combined with a lovely vocal arrangement. Cleverly, the song suddenly bursts in the title track, which makes you think you’re still listening to the previous song. The bass is excellent and the gritty guitar is a delight. Continuing the theme from earlier this track melds seamlessly into ‘Authenticity’ which has a bass and piano theme before the grungy guitar takes over before the lyrics from the previous song are repeated and a fine guitar solo rounds out the affair nicely.

‘Open Hands’ has a wonderful theme that puts me in mind of Enchant. It features some more fine soloing and is a terrific song, whilst ‘In the Mirror’ manages to come up with yet another memorable theme in a moody sort of way.

‘The Now Game’ has that Enchant feel and yet more great bass, although the vocal arrangement again harks at Kings X whilst ‘Field of View’ makes me think of Steely Dan playing quicker than usual on the verses and the bridge is glorious, but the chorus seems at odds with that.
To close the album we have ‘Coiled’ which is the album’s epic. Whereas most of the songs on the album come in under five minutes, this one is double that as it pretty much mixes all those influences that have gone before. At times the vocals get a bit over the top, but fortunately they don’t persist with that style.

This is an extremely refreshing album by a new band and I’ve enjoyed it a great deal because of the way they have successfully brought together a range of styles.

Gary Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  October 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 15 hours ago
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site