CD Reviews

8-Point Rose - 'Primigenia' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 19, 2010    
0.0 (0)
5231   0   1   0   0   0




At one time it was easy to distinguish between the different genres of Rock music ...

At one time it was easy to distinguish between the different genres of Rock music, be it AOR, Heavy Metal, Prog, Thrash, Death etc. These days however the lines are becoming increasingly blurred, and I for one think that’s a good thing, as it encourages the traditionalists to discover different styles. But I don’t think I have ever heard a band that encompasses as many styles as this new band from Sweden to such an extent, and really make it work. I’d like to think I have diverse tastes, enjoying things from the lighter end like Eagles and Richard Marx, more melodic rock like Tyketto and Gotthard, and through to heavier material including Metallica, Iron Maiden and Dream Theater. But I was initially a little cautious when I read the list of people in the band, and saw Adam Johansson – Guitars & Growl and Alexander Timander – Guitars & Screams. Normally I associate these ‘vocals’ with the more extreme end of the market, which is where I would probably draw the line. But in this line of work you have to have an open mind and give things a try, and after just one listen to this album I was hooked.

To start with the ‘growls and screams’ are for the most part confined to the backing vocals, as the actual lead vocalist Marcus Nygren has a powerful classic rock voice, which is used to it’s full potential throughout this album. And yes, the music is heavy, as bone crunching riffs and thunderous double-bass drumming dominate proceedings, the rhythm section of bassist Marcus Sjosund and drummer Johannes Timander locking together powerfully. If you had to label it, then it’s Power Prog Gothic Death Metal. But also there are immensely catchy hooks, with huge choruses and harmonies. You only have to listen to the likes of ‘Out Of The Shadows’, ‘When Chaos Rules Our Lives’, ‘Relentless’ and ‘Name Of Time’ to understand just how good this album is. Admittedly, I could still do without the growls and screams, but I can just about tolerate them as the songs are too good not to, and it would be doing the album an injustice to dismiss it on this basis alone.

There’s also a top-quality list of guests adding some spice to the guitar work, while also adding some much deserved credibility; the likes of Peter Grehn (Morgana Lefay), Johan Reinholdz (Andromeda) and Tomas Olsson (Bloodbound) for example. And considering the average age of the band is just 20, the quality of the compositions and musicianship is highly impressive indeed. It’s released on Escape Music, which was primarily known a Melodic rock label, but has recently expanded its roster to include heavier bands, further evidence that definitive music genres are a thing of the past.

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site