CD Reviews

Wolfspring - 'Wolfspring' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 20, 2010    
0.0 (0)
2692   0   1   0   0   0



A good variety of songs and sounds make for a very cohesive album consisting of eight tracks.

Wolfspring is a new band formed by JP Louveton, guitarist and singer with the French Progressive band, NEMO. I’ve not encountered NEMO previously, but if they are as good as Wolfspring then I need to check them out because this is a very tasty morsel indeed.
Their sound covers a large number of bases, but is essentially rooted in the Prog genre albeit touching on many of the sub-genres such as Metal, neo-Prog, Symphonic and most everything in between which makes them difficult to pigeon-hole. To emphasise that I’ll list just some of the comparisons that I have jotted down as I have listened to the album, these being Frost*, Darwin’s Radio, OSI, Rush, Arena, Satellite, Porcupine Tree, Dream Theater and I could go on.

That may sound like an unusual mix, but it all comes together to provide a good variety of songs and sounds that actually make for a very cohesive album consisting of eight tracks.
After a rousing start to the first track, ‘The Haunting’ it slows to a piano motif overlaid by Julian Clemens’ splendid vocal refrain. As the pace rises for an instrumental section Louveton displays some fabulous multiple guitar runs where there are several guitars playing different licks. ‘24/7’ opens with Guillaume Fontaine’s synth work whilst Louveton’s guitar reminds me of John Mitchell in Arena mode. He also lays down some fine bass whilst Ludovic Moro-Sibilot delivers some great drumming, and as for the bass pedals, wonderful. This is a very melodic number that on the construction of the chorus makes me think of Frost*.

The instrumental ‘Carpathian Wolves’ has a staccato riff initial before moving into Dream Theater mode, but later on Rush, circa ‘La Villa Strangiato’ comes into my head. Like any good instrumental it moves forward and has a melody strong enough to counter the lack of vocals.
After the bombast of the previous track ‘Train’s Gone’ takes the pace down with a lovely acoustic guitar and piano refrain. The vocals put me in mind of Venice and the jangly guitars of early Genesis. The tempo is ramped up towards the middle of the song and once more the guitars excel. The mix of a Metal riff with a slide guitar solo is an interesting development, but they pull it off so well. ‘Now or Never’ has vocals that immediately make me think of Kevin Godley (10CC) and I love this track with its gentle swagger, simple arrangement, strong melodies and lush bass. That is until the banjo appears, not an instrument that should be anywhere near a Prog album. The guitar solo rescues that particular faux pas.

‘Mutation’ has an industrial feel to the keyboards, almost Gary Numan-esque and isn’t as immediately impressive as previous songs, although when the processed vocals disappear and are replaced by proper singing it takes on a better complexion. Not the strongest song on the album.
‘Howling with the Banshee’ is another instrumental and again it is so well constructed, it remains tuneful and relevant throughout. It builds slowly and inexorably as the guitars create some fine melodies.

To close we have the longest track, ‘Our New Mediaevil World’, which starts like Pink Floyd but changes as it moves along, with Spock’s Beard inflections as well as Hard Rock and a touch Glam, making for an interesting amalgam. As you’d imagine it moves through any number of styles over it’s twelve and a half minute duration but it it’s a fine way to round out a very good album.

Gary Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 6 days, 5 hours ago
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//
  • Berny : Download Fireworks #82 for FREE, incl. all 88 songs and the bonus magazine. Just go to "Free Downloads" in the TOP menu. : - >
  • Berny : Fireworks #83 is out NOW!
  • Rocktopia Te : Exclusive MOONSPELL UK video premiere on Rocktopia: Check out the latest news!
  • Berny : Check out the new video by Mass: 'When 2 Worlds Collide' ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : We prouldy present the new music video by American Tears! Check out our News Section ... «link»
  • Berny : Interviews with SLEEPING ROMANCE & VISIONS OF ATLANTIS ... «link» Enloy! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 6000 album reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site