nth λscension - 'Ascension Of Kings' http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/45/05/fe/Nth-Ascension-ascension-of-kings-32-1432926556.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 29, 2015    
0.0 (0)
2131   0   1   0   0   0




This really is a tasty piece of Rock with Progressive originality stamped all the way through it!.

You cannot accuse Nth Ascension of rushing into things. Born in the North West of England in 2009, from the collaborative musings of Ten's keyboard impresario Darrel Treece-Birch and Craig Walker (drums, percussion), the band have evolved, matured and blossomed into a Prog Rock outfit that would much prefer to trail-blaze than follow their contemporaries.

From those embryonic musings it wasn't long until Alan 'Spud' Taylor (vocals) and Martin Walker (guitars & father of Craig) joined the ranks, adding their already established friendship and writing expertise to the equation. In 2011 they released 'Frequencies Of Day And Night', a demo album that was designed to test the waters... and themselves (and is well worth a listen!). The final piece of the jigsaw arrived in 2012; yet another Walker family member, Gavin (bass & brother of Craig) alleviated Taylor from his bass duties, allowing him to purely focus on vocals alone.

'Ascension Of Kings' is not a concept album, despite what the superb artwork may imply; it does however portray an epic theme of "emancipation over tyranny" throughout the opus. From the opening chords of 'Fourth Kingdom' it's clear that this is something special – a deep, pounding, scything riff enveloped by ethereal keys accompanies Taylor's unique, theatrical, and raconteur vocal delivery (engineered by Ten's Gary Hughes).

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Return Of The King' is one of three instrumental passages that weave together Birch's celestial keys with Martin Walker's multi-toned guitar ingenuity. 'Strange Dreams' picks up the tempo with a driving riff and impassioned vocals symptomatic of the late, great Alex Harvey. 'Overture', 'Realm With A Soul' and 'Seventh Rider' individually construct the 'Clanaan Chronicles' trilogy, a fantasy story penned by Birch back in the 1980s, and now (I have it on good authority) destined to develop on subsequent albums (similar to Saga's 'Chapters') – Parts 1&3 are both exquisite instrumentals, whilst Part 2 displays the melancholic side to Taylor's voice.

'Weight Of The World' is perfectly positioned as the penultimate song; a luscious ballad complete with a transcendent guitar solo that tempers the soul and prepares it for the mammoth, climactic sojourn. 'Vision', originally written in 1991, began life as a relatively short Prog opus; however, the eight minute composition took on a life of its own and developed into the eighteen minute behemoth witnessed here. Quite simply, it's exhilarating; a kaleidoscopic montage which exhibits the top class musicianship of each band member, whilst incorporating a superfluity of styles and rhythmic variations, including an AC/DC style riff!!

It's no surprise that these guys are from, (and the album was made) around the Blackpool area, as this really is a tasty piece of Rock with Progressive originality stamped all the way through it!!

Dave Crompton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 23 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us