CD Reviews

Jaded Star - 'Memories From The Future' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 30, 2015    
0.0 (0)
5132   0   1   0   0   0





There is only one other thing to do ... repeat play.

Jaded Star is a Female-Fronted Symphonic/Gothic Metal project featuring former Visions Of Atlantis leading lady Maxi Nil and drummer Raphael Saini, once a member of Iced Earth. The band is completed by guitarist Kosta Vreto (Horizon's End) and bass player Babis Nikou (Astral DNA, Opened Paradise). If I'm honest VOA never really got my juices flowing but after just a couple of plays of 'Memories From The Future', I was hooked! The JS style has more substance and certainly more power and these qualities generate more impact.

I'm reminded a lot of Stream Of Passion, though the song structures are less Progressive. I'm also reminded of the Beautiful Sin album from several years ago due to the dynamics of the arrangements and the direct approach but JS are by no means in the plagiarising game. The bulk of the material was written by Nil and Nikou and their writing ethic allows for the recognition of individual performances during the instantly memorable songs.

Saini's powerful drumming lays the foundations for some emotionally charged melodies and Vretos' guitar weaves in and out of the melody lines and assaults the senses with some crunching riffs. Nil's vocals are the best I have heard from her and she has the range to give the lyrics life, never over indulgent and always in the context of the song.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

'The Mask' is a swaggering opener and contains a great hook amongst the subtle time changes and incendiary rhythms. 'Stars' features a great Vreto solo and some fantastic work by Saini; Nil's vocals merely add to the appeal. 'Healing The Inner Child' forges ahead with some more impressive performances, drums and guitars to the fore but it is never at the expense of the music.

Aside from 'Into The End Of Time' and 'In Memory', the songs are generally mid-tempo in pace yet there is never a feeling of repetition. The two ballads are perfect showcases for Nil's skills and her passionate delivery manages to convey some haunting imagery and beauty. Album closer 'Innocence' is the most up-tempo workout on 'Memories From The Future' and possibly the most commercial of the ten tracks on offer. The chorus resonates and the performances are once again top drawer. Nil's production along with the mastering work of Fredrik Nordstrom gives a full sound and played loud the album simply Rocks.

At forty-five minutes, the running time is perfect for me and though material of this nature is generally more epic in scope, the four and five minute length songs still provide plenty to sink the teeth into. It also means there is only one other thing to do... repeat play.

Dave Bott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 3 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site