Karnataka - 'Secrets Of Angels' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 31, 2015    
0.0 (0)
6550   0   1   0   0   0





Verging on utter triumph.

Having, on many a day, been caught spellbound by their previous album 'The Gathering Light', the return of Karnataka with 'Secrets Of Angels' has been long anticipated by this particular scribbler. However, while '...Light's mixture of crunching guitars and soaring melodies, beautiful intricacies and drop dead vocals started the band down a more exuberant, confident and assured path than their three earlier albums, interestingly '...Angels' is more of a slower burn.

This is a beast willing to give up its treasures, but only at the pace and style it chooses – nuggets and trinkets of pleasure and excitement carefully placed in hidden compartments of the listener's mind to allow repeat visits to glow and shimmer in a way not initially alluded to.

Hayley Griffiths, who makes her Karnataka recording debut here, takes the role as focal point with ease; this lady with the powerful voice is "oh so comfortable" with the spotlight thrust firmly upon her. However without material worthy of her talents, the effect would be diminished to insignificance; that Karnataka have stepped up to the mark in what can best be described as quite outstanding fashion, is to their credit.

The effect is sumptuous, strings (provided by talented violinists, violists, cellists and harpists alongside the close your eyes and he's sure to appear pipes and whistle man Troy Donockley), unravelling a sound built round a Symphonic/Folk base, yet one which is raised and nurtured by the subtly stinging guitar work of Enrico Pinna and keyboards of Cagri Tozluoglu. However '...Angels' isn't some Folk-Prog retread or a Nightwished stab at Symphonic Metal.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Instead 'Because Of You' is shaped into an engaging, rounded tale of deceiving partners wrapped in varying musical attacks – one moment dartingly elusive, the next confidently boisterous whilst 'Borderline' is an assured swagger of bombast which is controlled to such an extent that it never even hints at the overbearing fare so many attempting this style bluster upon.

'Fairytale Lies' proves this incarnation of Karnataka are equally adept at turning their hand to intimate heart-tuggings, although it is the album's seven part title track which best illustrates the outstanding arrangements each song possesses; ever varying attacks interspersed with emotional asides and splashes of colour which together create a hugely individual piece.

Unfortunately 'Feels Like Home' holds the album back ever so slightly by stumbling unintentionally into an unwelcome "Disney Princess" vibe through its staccato/busy lyric and overly sentimental arrangements.

However this slight misjudgement is the only vague misstep anywhere on an album which is otherwise verging on utter triumph. The 'Secrets Of Angels' should be proclaimed loud and proud for all to hear!

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (1)add comment

Paul S said:

Beautiful album.
I've had the pleasure of seeing Karnataka at the Robins 2 (Bilston) and have to admit that they totally blew me away. I'm not a 'prog' fan at all - but have to admit that this album crosses over very nicely to other genre's.
If you've not heard the album, give it a whirl - if you've not seen them live, you really are missing a real treat. Needless to say, I will be watching them live in 2016 - roll on the next album/tour!!!
December 19, 2015
Votes: +0

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  October 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 6 days ago
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»
  • Adolfo : My e - mail
  • Adolfo : I don't have any e - mail.
  • Berny : @Adolfo: Pls. check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • Adolfo : I have order the #94 but I can't find the download

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site