CD Reviews

Andreas Vockrodt - 'Adventures From Foggyland' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 01, 2015    
0.0 (0)
1299   0   1   0   0   0





An okay album, but not outstanding.

If you were a guitarist about to release an instrumental album, what do you think would be the worst time you could release it? I would suggest that that would be at the same time as somebody like, say, Steve Vai or Joe Satriani was going to release their new album. And guess what? Satriani is about to release his latest and Vai has a live album out as well. And the thing about instrumental guitar albums is, you have to be bloody good to pull them off, and even then... the likes of Satriani can do tracks that don't stick in the mind.

For me, this was really a problem when I first listened to this album, as I was listening to Satriani's latest at the same time, and there was nothing on here that really grabbed my attention. Having listened to it again however, it started to get a bit better.

The opening track is '21 Is Only Half The Truth' (keeping up the tradition of guitarists coming up with barmy song (and album) titles) and it's a strong, medium-tempo opener, while 'Greetings From Mr Knowitall' is a little too repetitive for my liking. And this is the problem. When you're competing against someone like Satriani, you've got to really be on the ball to come up with something that grabs you round the throat and doesn't let go. That doesn't really happen here and while 'March Of The Spider' is a foot tapper, it wasn't still playing in my head like Satriani's was.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

There is also a bit of self-indulgence in here, with 'Riffology', 'Sergeant Tapper's Amazing Box Of Lullabies' and 'Tappology,' which are a little tedious, but then it wouldn't be a guitar album without some of that would it? 'The Foggy Waltz' is a nice, gentle, melodic tune but the album is slightly let down by the final track, 'Transition To Reality', which is basically the same backing track played over and over again; a bit strange.

So I think this is an okay album, but not outstanding, and there is quite a bit of work to be done before Andreas Vockrodt catches up with the leaders of the pack.

Andy Brailsford

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 5 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our RevĂ­ews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us