CD Reviews

Joe McGurk - 'Elements' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 18, 2015    
0.0 (0)
1380   0   1   0   0   0





With a nod to Vivaldi's 'Four Seasons', this instrumental album provides interpretations of the primary elements.

Joe McGurk is the guitarist for the Prog Metal band Opposing Motion and has just released his first solo album 'Elements'. With a nod to Vivaldi's 'Four Seasons', this instrumental album provides interpretations of the primary elements – 'Wind', 'Fire', 'Water' and 'Earth'. As you can imagine, this presents an opportunity for a bit of variety in the music.

On the whole though, we are talking Progressive Speed Metal, so if he was paid for every note played on the album, McGurk would be a rich man indeed. Light and shade is abundant though, with the quieter moments filled quite heavily with Flamenco Guitar, especially on 'Elements – (For Guitar And Orchestra)'. The use of Flamenco and Classical guitar provides a perfect foil for McGurk's extreme guitar solos utilising unusual scales and employing supreme dexterity in pulling them off. The guitar solos (both acoustic and electric) are smooth, fast and melodic and it is clear McGurk is a formidable player.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Following the four elements pieces, the final track is split into three movements (the aforementioned 'Elements...', 'Movement II: Requiem (Lacrymosa)' and 'Movement III: Grand Finale'). The first two movements set up the closer replete with extreme guitar playing and a white knuckle ride complete with the sound of the wind and rain permeating through the piece.

The Flamenco acoustic style rather than the Bach-influenced Neo-Classical playing of Yngwie Malmsteen makes Joe McGurk hard to pigeon-hole. For an instrumentalist this is probably a good thing; the heavy orchestration of pieces such as 'Requiem...' move the album more into a Metal Symphony rather than just a Metal guitar-shredding fest.

Give 'Elements' a try if this description whets your appetite.

Rob McKenzie

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 5 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us