CD Reviews

Dawn Of Destiny - 'To Hell' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 30, 2015    
0.0 (0)
1082   0   1   0   0   0






The challenge of the music combined with the challenge of the narrative add up to an ambitious and satisfying combination.

The sixth album from the German Metal band from Bochum who've been grinding out the Metal at a rate of knots since forming in 2005 and the release of 2007's debut '...Begins'. Seemingly picking up where 2014's 'F.E.A.R' left off, an album which told the tragic story of a wheelchair bound girl, they've gone for it big style with another grand conceptual piece.

Based on a story in which a young honeymooning couple are faced in different ways with the shadowy past of the bride, it sounds more like a plot from a TV drama or the storyboard of a film which might accompany a Meat Loaf song – all surreptitious midnight shadows, atmospheric skyscapes and lace. Strange tattoos, a daughter consumed by fire and mysterious notes all form part of the narrative while musically the album ranges from fiercely intense Rocking to the more epic and Operatic. Fans will naturally delight in taking care to follow the intricacies of the narrative thread through the album although in essence the songs standalone just as effectively.

Aside from the occasional growls from the direction of bassist Jens Faber, Jeanette Scherff's distinctive vocals are accompanied on a couple of pieces by Zak Stevens of Savatage and Bjorn Strid of Soilwork. 21Octayne's Marco Wriedt also adds some guitar as special guest, yet it's the vocal intricacies between characters, the title track being a classic example, which add an impressively narrative effect. It's particularly dramatic with the contrast between the soaring clean voice of Scherff and the growls of Faber on 'Light In The Night', a song carried along on a strong melody and typically vast arrangement.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Musically, the sound shifts from the fringes of what you might term Symphonic Speed Metal on something like 'Fire' to the more epic and Operatic in the musically theatrical 'From Paradise'. In some cases, the switch from the violent pummelling of drums and overblown crescendos to subtle acoustic moments occurs mid-song.

As the story evolves, the music too reflects the mood. 'Scream's grand operatic sound (reflecting a change in the storyline) is accompanied by an intensity in the musical arrangement. 'Hateful Heart' and 'Destroy My World' stand as a couple of big power ballads, the latter introduced with a tasteful Spanish guitar before the strings sweep in and offer some calm amidst the general furore.

'From Hell' places Dawn Of Destiny firmly alongside the glut of Female-Fronted Symphonic/Power Metal bands and the new material promises to be a baptism of fire for new guitarist in the band (Felix Rodermund).

The challenge of the music combined with the challenge of the narrative add up to an ambitious and satisfying combination.

Mike Ainscoe

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 2 days ago
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us