CD Reviews

Spock's Beard - 'The Oblivion Particle' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 30, 2015    
0.0 (0)
4580   0   1   0   0   0




Absolutely essential.

As is usual, I played the album many times before reading the PR blurb that came with it. Unusually however, I actually agreed with what I read, particularly the views of bassist Dave Meros – "I think opening track, 'Tides Of Time', is classic Spock's in terms of arrangement and style, but everything else is fairly different... the whole album is still within the parameters people expect to hear from us". I couldn't agree more.

After giving 'The Oblivion Particle' many spins I'm delighted it's not just a rehash of the Spock's Beard sound but a further evolution, absolutely nothing to worry existing fans, far from it. Every track is a terrific and brilliantly constructed.

It's not a concept album but several songs that tell the fictional story of an eccentric genius, Bennett, who is the creation of the band's co-writer, John Boegehold. 'Tides...' opens with a quintessential SB theme that burrows into the subconscious immediately. The vocal melodies are infectious and both the guitar and synth solos are splendid. The song's construction is superb with several different phases all working together; a beautiful gentle passage followed by a heavy section then back into the main theme.

'Minion' has a Styx style vocal arrangement that alternates mid-paced verses and heavy bridge/chorus before moving into a delightful mid-song piano break to which vocals are added as the song builds again. 'Hell's Not Enough' is acoustic guitar-based, putting me in mind of Saga in structure, if not vocally. The bridge/chorus kicks up the tempo and are both utterly compelling. The guitar/synth breakdown towards the end is a bit different from their norm but an interesting twist nonetheless.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

'Bennett Built A Time Machine' features drummer Jimmy Keegan taking on the lead vocals. The verses have a different feel although the bridge has a more familiar SB vibe. 'Get Out While You Can' has a gigantic chorus and another of those refrains you can't get out of your head.

'A Better Way To Fly' has a spooky opening before entering more familiar territory musically; the vocal arrangement being another new facet. The lengthy instrumental section offers something new as well without straying from the path of either accessibility or familiarity.

'The Center Line' offers more wonderful piano before developing into a superbly rollicking song with yet another fantastic melody while the instrumental section hints at Dream Theater technicality. 'To Be Free Again' is epic, using layered vocals in a way rarely heard of by Spock's Beard as is the slow middle section.

Closer 'Disappear' starts slowly, has a technical mid-section that may surprise a little and features David Ragsdale on violin which adds a certain Kansas flavour (no surprise).

In short, absolutely essential.

Gary Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site