CD Reviews

Avantasia - 'Ghostlights' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 14, 2015    
0.0 (0)
3865   0   1   0   0   0






A Symphonic Rock album that has enough diversity to have something for every Metal lover.

Tobias Sammet's ambitious Rock Opera enterprise continues to go from strength to strength and once again he's brought in an excellent cast of heavyweights to help out. Sammet succeeds where others who use multiple singers fail because here there's a narrative where each singer is a character, playing their part in the story. This means there's cohesion despite the disparate voices; the end result is a varied and inventive release.

It goes where previous Avantasia records have gone before but there are new musicians as well as those who've shaped the Avantasia sound previously. Old stalwarts like Jorn Lande, Bob Catley, Ronnie Atkins and Michael Kiske are back because they complement Sammet's vision perfectly; their voices conveying the requisite emotion and gravitas. The characterful Dee Snider joins the ranks this time as well as Marco Hietala, Robert Mason and Geoff Tate.

Across twelve tracks, the album tells a complicated story of a spiritual awakening of a life lived in the modern, materialistic world through a story of corrupt scientists who, under the pretence of building bridges to bring people together, are actually manipulating the world to their own ends. Sammet uses every trick in his musical arsenal to keep the whole enterprise engaging.

The twelve minutes of Symphonic Power Metal on the more typical, big and bombastic 'Let The Storm Descend Upon You' will appease existing fans, but it's the more surprising songs that are the real draw. Opener 'Mystery Of The Blood Red Rose' is the illegitimate child of Meat Loaf; when the Pop Rock hook unfurls, aided by female backing, you experience that same revving of engines and wind in your hair escapism that the 'Bat Out Of Hell' records provide.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

There are a couple of other very melodic moments in the fast-paced title track, the Melodic Metal of 'Babylon Vampyres' and the one-two knockout punch of the uber catchy 'Unchain the Light' and 'A Restless Heart And Obsidian Skies'; the latter sung by Catley whose voice has the necessary authority, backed by a whole chorus line of voices, to carry this triumphant curtain closer.

There's heavier Metal in the creeping riff of 'The Haunting' and Prog Metal on 'Seduction Of Decay'. Then there's the distinctly Gothic Pop Metal of 'Draconian Love' (think Sisters Of Mercy) and the fragile beauty of 'Isle Of Evermore' that has a very different sound to the rest thanks to the dreamy vocals of Sharon Den Adel.

The result is a Symphonic Rock album that has enough diversity to have something for every Metal lover but also has a depth that takes multiple listens to fully appreciate. Sammet's restless creativity is well realised on 'Ghostlights'; another strong addition to his growing catalogue.

Duncan Jamieson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 20 hours ago
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us