CD Reviews

Various Artists - 'Electric Gathering' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 04, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1340   0   1   0   0   0




Whilst there is no doubt about the musicianship, the songs get rather overwhelmed by the playing.

'Electric Gathering' is a showcase for instrumental guitar music which sees both undiscovered or unsigned talent as well as some established known names come together on one collection to highlight and support the future of guitar-based music. This compilation album gathers artists from all over the world including countries like U.S.A., Canada, U.K., Finland, Israel, Japan & Argentina.

World class and highly respected guitarists such as Jeff Kollman (Glenn Hughes, Asia Feat John Payne, Chad Smith's Bombastic Meatbats), Chris Poland (Megadeth, OHM) and Michael Hampton (Parliament Funkadelic) are joined by underrated guitarists such as internet favourite Jeff Fiorentino. John Herdt is backed by ex-Tommy Bolin collaborators Wally Z and David Givens and young international talent such as female Jazz virtuoso Yue's Bumping Jam, Yossi Sassi and Elmo Karjalainen.

The overall feel of the album is a little like the concept Prog albums of the seventies but without the concept. 'Ethereal' is like an "other worldly" soundtrack of a trip to Pluto followed by the heavier 'Pyramids On Mars', it's a little like a modern day Planet Suite. The atmospheric vibe continues with Sassi's 'Neo Quest' and 'Unintelligent Designs' (albeit this a little heavier) while 'Abby And Owen' is meandering and soothing.

'Alter Ego' ups the pace a little and would be a Bluesy accompaniment to a long open road trip. 'Club Metalfunkadelamack' is an Electro Rock rip up the frets whilst 'Deafen My Neighbour' it is riffy and has the strongest hooks. 'Fearless' is reminiscent of Yngwie Malmsteen's Neo Classic beginnings and the oddly named 'Hip Hop Karma' is actually rather Funky.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

My favourite track is Jam's 'Jungle Traffic Jam', it has a very 1970's Jazz Funk thing going on and stands alone. 'Patient Zero' is a pacy Rocker followed by another Jazzy number 'Rude Bayou'. 'Shedding Skin' is slightly schizophrenic, starting with a slightly South American acoustic, it morphs suddenly into something altogether heavier. 'War Machine' bottoms out the album with some heavy Funk vibes.

Instrumental albums need to have a very strong concept and for this it needs a musician who can look at the album as a whole and rein it in when needed. Otherwise it has a tendency to be rather self-indulgent.

'Electric Gathering' suffers from a lack of direction and whilst there is no doubt about the musicianship, the songs get rather overwhelmed by the playing. One for fans of the contributors as a showcase of their skills but it doesn't really gel into a memorable album.

Helen Bradley Owers

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 5 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our RevĂ­ews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us