CD Reviews

Stormzone - 'Seven Sins' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 23, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1391   0   1   0   0   0






Powerfully melodic, dramatic and intense.

Ireland's Stormzone are back with album number five and John "Harv" Harbinson and the band have recorded what can arguably be called their strongest and best album to date.

The powerfully melodic, dramatic and intense 'Seven Sins' is based around a Harbinson story that deals with very strong subject matter, such as child abuse and disability. It sees the band's recurring character Dr. Dealer returning, this time as a Wild West "snake oil" salesman whose true purpose is to save abused children from their evil parents. Sending his many helpers to the towns he's about to visit, Dealer finds out who the abused and abusers are and then, along with his stunningly beautiful assistant Bathsheba, he sets about rescuing those whose lives are in peril, leaving the abusers to Bathsheba's violent justice which is both swift and devastating.

But a great story wouldn't go anywhere if the music wasn't a match for it and Stormzone have come up with an album's worth of music that not only matches the story but in many places eclipses it. Just sit back and listen to 'Another Rainy Night' with its clever guitar riff, powerful hook and striking arrangement and you'll instantly know that you're about to listen to something that's quite incredible.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

From here Stormzone step off the brakes (if they were using any in the first place) and smack in you the face with wonderful songs like 'Your Time Has Come', 'The One That Got Away', 'You're Not The Same', the menacing 'Raise The Knife', the blast furnace caustic romp that is 'Abandoned Souls' and finally the two pronged closing attack that is 'Master Of Sorrow' and 'Born Of The Damned'. These songs will all leave you breathless but itching to hit the replay button once more so that you can enjoy the amazing songs from this album all over again.

'Seven Sins' is without a doubt Stormzone's tour-de-force and the ideas the band have for playing it in a live setting (see interview elsewhere) make this album an even more exciting prospect. As Melodic Metal records go, this one is a bit of a monster and it's definitely up there with the best ones I've heard this year.

Simply put (and because Harv is of course Irish), "it's a cracker" (sorry).

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 14 hours, 8 minutes ago
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with AndrĂ© Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us