CD Reviews

Witchcraft - 'Nucleus' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 13, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1452   0   1   0   0   0






By far the most accomplished and haunting music Witchcraft have released to date.

Witchcraft were formed in 2000 by Magnus Pelander and their debut album appeared in 2004 to critical acclaim with three further albums appearing up until 2012. Now in the present day, their latest release 'Nucleus' features a new line-up; joining Magnus on guitar and vocals are Rage Widerberg on drums and Tobias Anger on bass guitar.

Proceedings kick off with 'Maelstrom', a song that digs deep into the bowels of emotion. The guitar guides through nearly four minutes of gut crunching riff work, before the vocals arrive like sunshine through the clouds. Pelander's vocals are a combination of tragedy and sermon where each breathe is captured perfectly.

The influence of Pentagram and Atomic Rooster shines through 'Theory Of Consequences' and 'The Obsessed', both songs have a sonic seventies vibe to them that will rattle your teeth. The subtle use of the flute in 'The Outcast' brought to mind early Jethro Tull as Pelander taps into a Folksier Rock style of vocal which adds depth to the album as whole.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The epic fourteen minute piece title track takes the more esoteric moments of The Doors and Blue Oyster Cult and melds them into a slow burning melody that twists and turns into a forest of ideas. The hymn like quality of 'Breakdown' is not unlike some of Sabbath Assembly's work, or maybe even a soundtrack to one of David Lynch's movies.

The delicately crafted dynamics on all the songs here are by far the most accomplished and haunting music Witchcraft have released to date.

Ray Paul

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us