• JFolder::create: Could not create directory

CD Reviews

Elysion - 'Silent Scream' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 27, 2010    
0.0 (0)
6210   0   1   0   0   0





Massacre have something special on their hands here.

Hailing from Greece and formed in 2006, Elysion's debut album should be an essential purchase for lovers of female fronted Goth/metal bands and also for anyone a little more musically broad-minded. Not as epic in scope or theatrical as the likes of Nightwish or Within Temptation and featuring more of an electronic pop/rock edge, 'Silent Scream' features 11 exquisitely crafted songs whose immediacy is apparent after only one spin. The nucleus of the band was originally guitarist Johnny Zero and vocalist Maxi Nil. Nil left the band in 2008, before work on 'Silent Scream' began, yet all the material on the album features her writing credits, and contributions towards the vocal lines are also mentioned.

The strikingly beautiful Christianna joined Elysion as the new singer and her vocals are an essential feature in the overall appeal. Lacuna Coil are probably the most logical reference point but Elysion are no mere clones and have an identity of their own, being less industrial than the Italian band, with some slight techno subtleties permeating the energetic riffs and involving keyboard textures. Christianna's vocal execution is very reminiscent of Cristina Scabbia but fortunately we have no annoying male vocals to contend with! Most of the tracks, between 3 and 4 minutes in length, drive along with a nice tempo, typified by the likes of 'The Rules', 'Loss' and 'Never Forever'. Deftly blending guitar and keys alongside a pumping rhythm section, its the quality of the songs that grab the attention rather than any individual performances, and the emotional atmospherics of 'Bleedin', 'Weakness In Your Eyes' and 'Far From The Edge' balance the album out nicely. Obviously Christianna's beguiling delivery, alongside her beautiful looks, will make most people sit up and take notice, but nothing should be taken away from the other members of the band. Johnny Zero's guitar solos figure prominently amongst the mesmeric melodies and it's to his songwriting credit that such an impact is made.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Closing track 'Erase' is the longest track on 'Silent Scream' and simply brings all the ideas from the rest of the CD together into a breathtaking finale. Recorded and mixed in Athens but mastered in New York by Ted Jensen, who is renowned for his work with artists of a much higher profile, the sound has an expensive feel that just expands on the existing quality. Massacre have something special on their hands here and I for one hope that the project lasts longer than this one excellent album.

Dave Bott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site